What do they call this again?


Hi… my name is John, but I used to be known around here as JT.  Why is it that people say; “Life can sure be funny sometimes”, or “How are you today?” or Have a nice day! ?

It sure is confusing when many people don’t say what they mean. Obviously etiquette, manners and common decency are things we apply in our efforts to not be offensive or rude… still, can’t we be more direct when choosing what to say while maintaining a good nature? If you don’t particularly care whether someone has a good day or not and yet feel the need to say it, it often comes across as fake and/or disingenuous. Better to say nothing or at least closer to what you mean- such as “See you later” or “perhaps we will meet again”… or some such thing.

I would like to say I am back but it doesn’t seem likely… at least not with any consistency. I realize that isn’t exactly the kind of thing to say if you’re hoping to keep readers around, but I also don’t want to mislead anyone to hang around, which of course now sounds ego inflated ….(implying that people would be hanging around ).

So I will bid you all goodnight and apologize in advance for rambling and apparently having no clear topic in which to garner anyone’s attention.

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

