When God Answers . . .


Prayer, some do pray and some say they pray and the books apart from the Bible written about prayer number in the thousands. Many people give experiential evidence of God answering prayer and the naysayers easily explain it away as happenstance or circumstance or self fulfillment, to name a few.

If you pray, do you pray with an expectation that God hears/answers?

When something happens that appears to be an answer to your prayer do you share it with others or document it?, or even approach it with semi-disbelief yourself?

Recently my son started working full-time, unfortunately the hours are 330pm to midnight and he doesn’t have a license and so I end up picking him up at midnight and getting to sleep between 1230 and 1 am! I then get up at 6am to get ready for work and often don’t return from my 2 jobs until between 8 -9 pm at night.

This new crinkle in my schedule has had a negative effect on my sleep account… obviously. This sleep deprivation was building as the week progressed and by Friday morning I was praying with intensity this: “Dear Jesus, Please pour out a measure of your strength into me so that I may accomplish what is before me today! Lord without you I will not be able to do all that is before me! Amen”.

I prayed this with the hope that Jesus would answer and the very real sense that I would not be able to do both jobs and pick up my son at midnight without some kind of help. Let me make this caveat, In hindsight I don’t think I had very much confidence that an answer would come in the way I was expecting it too… in fact I really had no specific expectation at all.

I was sitting in my car when I prayed this and it was about 8am. What happened next can probably be explained scientifically or through the medical community or some such group, I however, choose to see this for what it is/was. Within one or two minutes of praying I noticed a physical transformation taking effect. Quite literally the weight and burden of the week’s sleep deprivation lifted off of me and I was infused with energy that wasn’t a flash in the pan sugar or caffeine induced spike, but rather a deep and abiding energy that carried me through the rest of that day.Ā  I am giving testimony that this is true and not an exaggeration. I believe Jesus answered that prayer and, in fact, answers all prayer. I think most answers go unnoticed because they don’t look like we expect.

Furthermore a friend of mine also a blogger @ http://thatsajennstory.com/ asked for some prayer over the weekend and I along with others prayed for her… God answered that prayer as well.

What do you think?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When God Answers . . .

  1. SaintlySages says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. I pray it may reach those who doubt. God bless!

  2. Kate Cote says:

    Amen!!! Did you see the rainbow over the sound booth yesterday at church??

  3. I actually pray to the Grandma angels in my life as well as to the Big Man Upstairs. My one grandma angel comes to me in the form of a Cardinal and I received a visit from a Cardinal when in Hawaii this February. My other grandma angel usually appears in three forms; butterfly, bee or floral and I see her plenty, since we had such a bond and connection when she was living. Love your story JT – thanks:) Have a Great One My Friend!

Leave a Reply

