Reflections in the Kitchen Sink


 

Česky: Pitná voda - kohoutek Español: Agua potable

Česky: Pitná voda – kohoutek Español: Agua potable (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Something rather unusual happened to me this morning. I went to the kitchen sink to wet a sponge and had turned the water on, but, before I disrupted the flow of water with the sponge, (I don’t know why) but I looked down at the bottom of the sink and was amazed to see that the way the water flowed before going into the drain had created the perfect heart shape. The water maintained this shape until I disrupted it to wet the sponge, but here is the reflection… I stopped for a moment, mesmerized that this heart shape was there, and that it was almost like it had put the laws of physics on hold or some thing in order to accomplish this shape.

Perhaps this seems inconsequential to you, and it made me wonder how many times this might have happened where I never even noticed it… for all I know maybe this happens regularly and for some reason I just happened to notice it this time? It also had me reflecting on all the people who touch my heart and this in turn humbled me and made me grateful.

Now I wonder about all of you reading this and what or how you may be thinking/feeling about this reflection, are you shrugging it off and saying “whatever”, “What’s the big deal?”, “This guy has way to much time on his hands!” , or maybe it causes you to stop for a minute and ponder how many things happen to you that you never notice or, if you notice don’t take the time to reflect on, because, after all, there is way too many more important things to do?

Things I wonder about…

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, introspection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections in the Kitchen Sink

  1. Kate Cote says:

    John, this stuff happens to me all the time. I am so glad you got it, and shared it!!! A few weeks ago, Dick York read Psalm 91 over me during prayer. The next morning as I was walking into work, there was a wing feather laying on the ground pointing right to the door I had to enter!!! John, I was so excited that changed the whole tone of my day. I felt the LORD was saying, “I did that because I knew you would get it!!!” Sadly, when I shared my tale with a number of believers, they just stared at me blankly………GOD is speakly to everyone all the time, but unfortunately a lot of people just don’t pay attention……….

  2. Thanks so much for sharing – this is so SWEET – it makes me think and ponder what I miss seeing throughout my day!!! Have a Great One:)

Leave a Reply

