My Medical Labors


The labor day transition… our annual metamorphosis from summer to fall mentality, is this year taking a different shape. I sit here with a nephrostomy tube still running from my right kidney out of my back and down my torso into a bag.  This was supposed to be over a week ago and I have to admit as the days go by my attempts at brushing it all off with an optimistic shrug has begun to wear thin.

In light of the big picture this really is just a nuanced inconvenience, frankly I am ashamed of myself half the time for even giving it a place in my list of events, (or rather non-events) of the day.

Tomorrow the doctors go back in once again to hopefully finish removing the debris. If all goes well, I will be home from the hospital Wednesday, and on Friday after some preliminary X-rays they will remove the nefarious tube that has curiously become this extra appendage to my body. This appendage appeared on August 19th like a not so welcome relative that stopped for a visit and was wearing Velcro in my hook and loop spare room.

Like “Kendricks” “cup song” , singing you’re gonna miss me when I’m gone, is not going to be one of my problems. More likely I will say…so long… come again when you can’t stay!

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Medical Labors

  1. I just read you post and I pray all is well. I ‘on purpose’ stopped what I was doing and prayed.

  2. yeloros says:

    Hope all goes well soon. Still keeping you in my prayers.

  3. Jennwith2ns says:

    Glad for our brief chat. This sounds totally un-fun . . .

Leave a Reply

