The Call Back to Romania


Today I am convinced, that we are being called back to Romania. As I reflect on the last few months the evidence of that call is becoming more clear.

For some who may read this, the comment above may bring skepticism or disdain to your mind and lips. Perhaps the idea of a living and active God that is alive and desiring to participate with human beings sounds about as alien as “Close Encounters of the Worst Kind” . That is one of the areas of Faith that can be so confounding. For those that look on, it seems as though people who you normally consider rational suddenly have fallen off the deep end.

Walking out our faith often times means taking the road almost never traveled. Those who know you and watch, typically fall into two general groups. Those that support you and those who wonder why it appears you’ve lost you’re mind. Nevertheless, the idea that our faith can be passive has no foundation in the scriptures. When Jesus first began to call some fisherman to follow him, it wasn’t to meet up at a coffee shop for a cup of java. The call was much more concrete than that, “Come and I will make you fishers of Men” ! Think about that in terms of the lives that we lead and live today… Imagine with me for a moment if some stranger you didn’t know came up to you and said, “Come, Follow me”, what is the likelihood you would even give it a thought, let alone drop everything and follow.

Missionaries are not specifically people who travel to another land to plant a church. Missionaries aren’t evangelists or even anointed preachers, Missionaries are just everyday people who tell God, Anytime, Anywhere, in what ever form you will use me, I am yours! If we are after God like that, it doesn’t matter if we are cleaning the streets of Boston or Pastoring a church of thousands, whether we stay at home with the children or lead a fortune 500 company.

Faith happens… it is the combination of doing and being! One with out the other is always going to end in a crisis either of conviction or conscience. I want to be there not only in the thought and meditation of the incredible Grace by which we walk, but also in the act of putting my hands and heart out there as instruments of expression, sharing how much our God loves each and every one of us.

English: Iaşi , Metropolitan Orthodox Cathedra...

English: Iaşi , Metropolitan Orthodox Cathedral , Iaşi ,Romania Română: Iaşi , Catedrala Metropolitană Ortodoxă , Iaşi, România (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t know all the details or how the path will shape itself before us, I just know that my family is saying here we`are Lord, send us!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, Romania and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Call Back to Romania

  1. Hi John, would I be out of line if I asked you what you could do in Romania that you can’t do here in the US? The reason I ask is because it seems like so very many people are leaving the US (or sending money overseas, when it seems to me that we need all the resources we can get right here at home. Sorry, in advance if it’s a wrong-headed question.

    If you decide to go, take plenty of garlic and a few wooden steaks with you. 😉

    • JT says:

      Hi Donald, I Don’t think you asking is out of line at all… however based on our past discussions I am not sure I can explain it, well at least not in a way that sounds logical to you or many people for that matter. In fact doing what we have done and are now consider54ing again goes completely against logic and common sense, sometimes, and I stress the word sometimes, things of the spirit make no sense to those around us. Faith, is often times expressed at a level that contradicts the physical world. On a practical note we do the things here that we do in Romania or wherever the spirit impresses those God chooses to send, but really the world is seamless in the spiritual realm and even if one travels to a remote or distant place to work among a different people group, still. there are many others who by fulfilling their different callings empower the work as a whole to be carried out. We could not go if there weren’t those who prayed or gave resource or time or a hundred other things which at times don’t even seem like they are connected. That, is one of the wonders when “The Body of Christ”, (that is the church or group of believers) each participates no one is left out, some are called to be Pastor’s or Teacher’s or Evangelist’s or Prophet’s etc. etc. That we each one is operating in their particular strengths and the whole work gets completed. I’m sorry I really am not doing justice to your question and one that could be expounded on extensively, I am not really sure you wanted me to answer so pragmatically, but alas I have 🙂 The garlic and stakes are packed… now if I could just find that bottle of sunshine…

      • Hey John, I think you did an excellent job of summing up the theological concepts. Since theology is a type of philosophy, it’s something that I’m interested in–and I remember a lot of the concepts from hearing some excellent sermons when I was a churchgoer.

        Godspeed to you, and let me know how things are going from time to time. I’m guessing they have the internet and a connection to WordPress even in Romania. 😉 So long for now. Best wishes to you and your family.

      • JT says:

        thanks Donald…love that inquisitive mind of yours 🙂

      • JT says:

        I plan on continuing the blogging …not sure if I will still use food4thought or different blog title. We are not planning to leave for 2 years, so I’m sure we will be talking about this more as time goes by.

Leave a Reply

