Taking Health for Granted, Not just an Age Thing!


I turn 50 next month, I wish I could say I don’t feel it, but that would be a lie. I guess it is natural to take our health for granted when we are not sick or limited in some way. I just spent 5 days in the hospital while they determined what and where an infection in my blood and urine was coming from… finally they got positives on a Lyme test. Let me just state for the record that the antibiotics they have me on are leaving me feeling far worse than anything the Lyme disease was doing to me. As an added bonus the antibiotic has caused the Crohn’s Disease to flare up. I don’t even want to get into the Kidney stones they found.

I don’t say this looking for empathy or pity, I just have a much greater awareness of how much I used to take my health for granted and , perhaps because I am getting older, I find the battle to try to find health at times confusing and exhausting. I realize that I am not alone in this and that many, many others have this battle and are far more involved in their own struggles than I am in my own.

Another topic related to health in general is where to draw the line regarding intervention. This is a big subject and one that will have different answers for every person. I wonder where, and to some degree when, do you say that’s far enough Dr. it is time to let go and Let God… so to speak. Medical technology has come so far and with each new breakthrough or assistive device  or Pharmacological discovery we step further and further into an unknown abyss. Where is the blessing of knowledge and discovery crossing over into I can do all things because of our incredible abilities that was before, untapped?

What if you come to a place where you decide, God if you want me here longer  it will be by your hand, or is even saying that throwing it back in His face because He bestowed the knowledge to make you better and you chose not to accept it… or your definition of “better” doesn’t jive with the medical communities. What about spouses or family members how do their wishes impact your own decisions and should they?

I am really just getting started here and realizing that I don’t feel like going into the whole thing just now.

Food for Thought,

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in food, God, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Taking Health for Granted, Not just an Age Thing!

  1. Aisha says:

    Hi there,

    I just stumbled upon your blog! Did you just find out you have Lyme?? If so, you should find a LLMD (lyme literate medical doctor) in the area you live in .. you may already know about all this, but just thought I would let ya know, just in case!! Praying for your health!!

    Blessings,
    Aisha 🙂

    • JT says:

      Hi There,
      I am glad you stumbled upon the blog… perhaps you could expand my understanding, what exactly is an LLMD?

      • Aisha says:

        They specialize in treating Lyme Disease. It is VERY complicated and very controversial. There are co-infections that come with Lyme Disease that most doctors don’t know about and they don’t know how to treat it the right way! I would read through http://ilads.org/ … it kinda gives you an overview! Hope this helps!! Please don’t hesitate to ask me any questions!

        Blessings,
        Aisha

      • JT says:

        Thank you Aisha, I will definitely check it out, and most likely will be seeking more feedback from you as well 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear that you are not feeling well and dealing with Lyme disease. I am for being proactive when it comes to my health and if I do not like a doctor or a diagnosis I seek another. Sending you and your family good thoughts and prayers – wish you well my friend – take care:) Have a Great One!

  3. yeloros says:

    I hope you are feeling better. I can relate to your hospital stay. I spent 10 days in the hospital because of a tick bite and wondered if I would get out alive. Hope you get a chance to read the post “Growing Mole” about that experience. Wishing you good health and wellness.

    • JT says:

      Hi Yeloros, I am doing much better in regards to the tick bite… I will be going in for surgery on my right kidney in a few weeks as the inside has turned into one big stone, but that post is for another day. I will read “Growing Mole” and hope that you are doing better as well.

      • yeloros says:

        Thank you for your reply. Sorry to hear about the kidney surgery you are facing. I’m praying for a positive outcome and a speedy recovery. God bless.

Leave a Reply

