Lottery…In it to Win it?!


The Lotto Powerball logo

The Lotto Powerball logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The fever is on again, tonight PowerBall has an estimated Jackpot in excess of Six Hundred Million dollars. Media pundits love to pose hypothetical leading questions whenever we have a really large jackpot.  “Sir this is Free Ride from channel 236” the field reporter says earnestly, “tell me what would you do with Six Hundred Million Dollars!”. The unsuspecting gentleman invariably says…”well, I don’t know, I would pay off my bills and maybe get a new car”.

Just once I would love to see them do that live, and have the person say, Lottery what are you crazy! I work too hard for the money we have coming in!

Think about this the next time someone says “You Gotta Be in it to Win it”:

1) How many big time lottery winners do you know personally?

2) Your odds of getting hit by lightning, not once… But 7 times is better than your odds of winning one of these. Considering I haven’t even been hit by lightning once yet, Well… you do the math.

3) The history of lottery winners after they supposedly hit it big, is surprisingly, in a large percentage of the cases a curse and not a blessing. Many end up destitute, in… or needing to be in Rehab. or dead!

4) The average 19-29 year old spends approx 50.00 a month on lottery looking to hit it big. Here’s a better idea take the 50 a month and consistently invest it in large companies, using mutual funds and Guarantee yourself a lightning strike! Shoot, if you put it under your pillow you will end up with a lot more than you will playing the numbers.

This image was selected as a picture of the we...

This image was selected as a picture of the week on the Malay Wikipedia for the 51st week, 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On a closing note, here is one more sobering statistic… You have a BETTER chance of dying by being crushed under a vending machine you were rocking because your item didn’t come out.

I don’t expect this will change many minds about playing the lottery given “Human Nature”

Still it does bear thinking about that you never see a rich person waiting in a line for lottery tickets…

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Finances, freedom, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lottery…In it to Win it?!

  1. My husband has a math degree and I had him come into my classroom once to show mathematically how the lottery and gambling only hurts those who gambles and helps the company selling the tickets. All of my students were ready to tell everyone to start saving their money instead of buy lottery tickets!!

  2. When I was working in IT, one of the first things I’d do after learning a new programming language was write a lottery number generator. Such apps don’t take long and test one’s knowledge of quite a few programming skills – gathering user input, outputting to the screen, generating random numbers, sorting them, etc.

    The first time I tried it after learning Java, I won $5. In the next week or so I lost $50 buying tickets with more numbers I generated. That cured me of any trace of lottery fever- that along with the statistic that the average return is fifty cents on the dollar. Later, I really did meet a woman who won and wound up in rehab.

    Good post!

  3. L. Palmer says:

    At work we have a lottery pool where everyone contributed $5. I do not participate, and so far I have spent $0 while my co-workers have spent $20. So far, I think I’m winning.

    • JT says:

      Sure sounds like it 🙂 I once played one of those and we hit for 100,000, course it was split 25 ways so after taxes we ended up with about 2,500 each. That is when things started getting scary because the fever hit and drama started up… lets just say I bailed after that and many people lost a lot of the winnings and relationships were fractured beyond repair.

  4. Shoot, I won the lottery every day when I commuted to/from work in Memphis, TN and arrived safely. That was good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

