View from the Hospital Bed…


Greetings and although its been a while, I am not dead, (My apologies to any protagonists out there who wished otherwise), I am however writing this from my hospital bed, of which I have been in for several days now and, truth be told, this is the first time I have had the energy and ambition to do more than sleep or drink water.

Hospitals I have decided are a great place for writers: a) You get to see so many people at their worst interacting with agents of help, who are often stereotypically depicted as

Publicity photo from the television program Le...

Publicity photo from the television program Leave it to Beaver. Pictured are Jerry Mathers and Pam Smith in the episode “Beaver’s First Date”. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

smiling, having it all together, “leave it to Beaver’s Mom, nurses. Talk about storylines… b)  Unless you are  wildly popular and /or an important person (and we all are), you will have many hours to think and plot and write without fear that guilt will overcome you for schlepping on your daily responsibilities. c) no matter how poorly you write the idea that you wrote it in the hospital, preferably recovering from a near death experience, will gain you huge amounts of sympathy points. (Authors Note: Literary Agents have no heart and hence are unable to feel… so be careful who you try to play the sympathy card on.)

On a more serious note, this hospital stay has been quite sobering. A number of health concerns both old and new have made my plans for the future of not only me but my family somewhat tenuous.  It appears I am about to embark on a new journey… one I did not foresee but will embrace nonetheless.

I will say this one last thing… This life is filled with distractions and diversions, most are not inherently bad, it is imperative we don’t lose sight of the single most important thing that anyone can learn and embrace…. Relationship is everything >Period ! I challenge you to find something wore meaningful or valuable… and yet it is often treated with a trite or cursory attitude.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, health, humor, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to View from the Hospital Bed…

  1. JT – Not good at all – Sending thoughts and prayers your way. Take Care!

Leave a Reply

