Running, Tripping and Falling on Dunkins


5 am: eyes still closed but the rest of me is moving, 2 facts are now apparent,  A) toes are for finding furniture in the dark  B) the sun is near the horizon twice a day.

5:15 am: bandaged toes and the Kuerig is hissing a welcome, eyes still closed

kcups and coffee

kcups and coffee (Photo credit: demandaj)

5:17 am: the aromatic waves as the black gold travels its gravity driven course into the waiting cup, this causes my glands to begin salivating and my central nervous system begins to spark off neurons of anticipation in my sleep addled brain.

5:20 am: several deep sips and the possibility of a coherent thought first appear on the horizon. In the deepest recesses of the mind there begins the acknowledgement that this is merely the pee-cursor to the main event.

5:30 am: first cup is done and second cup has made the journey to the preparation room where everything needed to prepare for the work day is waiting. Caffeine intravenous would be helpful, but also impossible as the whole trying to navigate the restroom, shaving, dressing thing while attached to the brown stained once translucent plastic tubing would require a degree of concentration and athleticism not thought of in at least 40 years.

6:00 am: third cup in a travel mug gripped tightly in hand now impedes my ability to leave the house as the other hand has keys , coat, lunch-bag, work papers, stuff to be mailed, and last nights trash! The thought of putting the one cup down to open the door is quickly excommunicated, and all other items hit the floor in an extreme juggling act that if caught on camera would instantly win me ten thousand dollars.

English: Dunkin' Donuts in Geneva, New York.

English: Dunkin’ Donuts in Geneva, New York. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6:15 am A smile creeps across my face as the soft-lit glare of the Dunkin Donuts menu sign illuminates my face. The girl behind the counter tosses me a knowing look, as the glaze in my eyes subliminally communicates my order to her. As she hands me the cup, the first sensible words of the day pass my lips…. “coffee ahh Thank you”.

 This post is a fictionalized account, any similarities of people living or dead is purely coincidental.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, humor, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Running, Tripping and Falling on Dunkins

  1. OMG – Ha! – love it! I so would love one of those Jetson’s contraptions to get ready in the morning along with a shunt for never ending coffee as well as one of those transporter thingies to get from point a to point b in a flash!!! Happy Tuesday:)

  2. This is a very good story. Your writing seems to have improved markedly. I guess it does go to show that persistence and practice will … well, maybe it won’t get you to Carnegie Hall, but it sure will pay off and show two full rows of second teeth, fully cut,

    Way to go JT.

    • JT says:

      Frankly it seems like meaningless drivel to me, I was just having fun with my caffeine addiction. I would love to write something powerful and inspiring… I have the story in me but lack the skills to set it on to paper. Thank you just the same my friend, it was nice of you to stop by and say kind things.

      • Now, you’re sounding like me talking about my own writing. Nope. I wasn’t being kind. You made waking up and getting a cup of coffee entertaining, and that’s not done very often.

        I wrote something of importance. And if I don’t mind saying so myself, it ain’t bad. Actually, Noam Chomsky came by my site. In an email, among other things, he said, “Well done.” Two of the best words I’ve ever read. The great Noam Chomsky thinks I did a good job!!!

        It’s called “A Cold Day in May.”

      • JT says:

        Well, Donald I am not surprised he said “Well Done”. It is a particularly stirring piece that, I think, makes us look in the mirror and see that it’s true what Grandmother used to say; “Whenever you point a finger at someone else there are three pointing back at you”.

Leave a Reply

