Help me do my Homework?


I was wondering if you all would be willing to help me with a work project, wait!, don’t click off the page yet until you at least hear me out.

Over the last six months They have been developing a training called “Proficient Manager”. During this training we have been asked to identify core gifts, and mastered skills as well as growth areas, a.k.a. deficiencies in our skills, particularly in relation to work environments, but not exclusively. Now, finally, getting to the point which is relevant, believe it or not.

Most of you don’t know me on a personal or professional level, but, many of you know me in regards to how well or…. er, not so well I am at communicating ideas.  We, ( meaning the group of us being trained), have been asked to identify a personally relevant area where we are deficient, why we think we are and how it impacts our ability to complete our jobs effectively.

Here is where you come in: I will give you what I feel is a deficiency and I need you all to give me feedback… Please? It isn’t hard, and be honest, otherwise it won’t help me.

I feel this is one of my personally relevant deficiencies:  I tend to give sloppy feedback, it isn’t clear and concise and I tend to run on so that the person either loses sight of what my point is or misses it altogether. I often don’t summarize or prioritize the information I want to share in such a way that allows the person receiving the information to be able to draw clear  and concise conclusions.

Based on my writings on this blog would you agree… Disagree and what exercise might I use to help improve in this area?

Thank you in advance, I would like to offer a prize for all contributors, however I have no prizes to offer, so instead I will give you sincere gratitude out loud… here in my next post!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Help me do my Homework?

  1. Cheryl says:

    Well, I don’t have any personal experience with you on that, but I think it is cool you have identified an area to work on and looking for solutions. I guess giving feedback is like writing a paragraph for a thesis paper. You make a statement, throw in a few supporting facts, then conclude with a resolution. If you have a second point, start a new paragraph with the same framework, etc. Organizing your thoughts first makes you a good communicator and helps others retain what you say better. Keep up the good work!

  2. Jennwith2ns says:

    So . . . I don’t think you can necessarily tell that from your blog. But on the basis of what I know about you personally–including that we seem to have similar communication styles, I suspect that analysis of yourself is correct.

    (See? Did I prove my point, or what? 🙂 )

  3. Okay here it goes – you tend to ramble at times, however; here is the great part you have great things to say, voice, communicate. I vision feedback as a construction project – build the base, fill in the house and top if off with a roof. Make sure your feedback is constructive as well as have a beginning, middle and end and that will help it be more concise with practice. Good Luck – Happy Learning:)

Leave a Reply

