The Conundrum of Awesome!


awe·some

[aw-suhm] Show IPA

adjective

1.

inspiring an overwhelming feeling of reverence, admiration, or fear; causing or inducing awe: an awesome sight.
2.

showing or characterized by reverence, admiration, or fear; exhibiting or marked by awe.

3. Slang. very impressive: That new white convertible is totally awesome

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/awesome

This is one of those words that I struggle with. I have heard it said that once upon a time this word was reserved exclusively to describe God, I know that our language is in a constant state of metamorphosis, changing both in use and intent, (not to mention the propensity for turning everything into an acronym).

I am reading a book right now by Jon Acuff entitled “Start”, this author’s ideas about taking your life from average to Awesome. Reading this is like an exercise in defining the difference between a rock and hard place for me, and this is why:

1) I am morally torn regarding the idea of me being “Awesome”, particularly regarding my aforementioned point of reference for which the meaning of awesome is. After all, if God is Awesome , me trying to claim Awesome as a descriptor of who I am approaches blasphemy.

2) Putting that problem aside, the idea that I can describe myself or promote my self as awesome, creates this whole conundrum between being , meek, humble and content in all things, while at the same time being awesome.

I realize that this author is taking license here, probably, to say be the best you can be. The book has a lot of great analogies inspiring the reader to find and work on the things in your life where your joy and passion are being utilized. He also has a very practical emphasis in prioritizing the areas of awesome. An example he gives is, if writing is where your “Awesome” is, while at the same time realizing you want to be the best parent, spouse, employee etc. Then don’t steal the time from your wife to work on your awesome writing, while she is trying to cook dinner with the children under foot and you haven’t shared two words since yesterday.

On a somewhat deeper level I struggle with the fact that I want to be awesome, really, at a base level I want to be an amazing Christian, a devoted husband, the envy of the neighborhood father, a star employee and a world-renowned writer, to name a few. The problem is I think maybe it’s wrong for me to want that, not that being those things in and of themselves is bad, more to the point, me, wanting those things is, when I am honest with myself based on a deep-seated desire to be recognized, applauded, rewarded… yes it’s all about me!

If I could do and be all those things with a right heart and a properly adjusted attitude that was born solely of a desire to honor God and an exclusive desire to point others at His Awesomeness…. Frankly the opposing positions are so far apart I can not imagine finding a solution.

So… there’s the conundrum! Life goes on and as I ponder these things I have to wonder… while spending my life looking for the answer, am I destined to a life of mediocrity?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Conundrum of Awesome!

  1. Author Of My Own Misfortune says:

    Happiness isn’t a destination, it’s a journey. And if the answer you are looking for is truly the right one then looking for the answer is the journey which will show you what awesome really is. Life is never mediocre. It is always amazing, you just have to change your attitude and perception to see 🙂

  2. Jennwith2ns says:

    A real comment is forthcoming, but I’m restarting class right now. 🙂

  3. Great Post! I love being a work in progress:) Have a Great Day!

  4. Pingback: The Conundrum of Awesome, Continued… | food4thoughtfood4life

  5. hmmmmm. I know the book has you thinking in this direction, but you have caused me to pause because I can’t say I think about this much, I just “do”, I just “live with purpose”. My mind seems to be on the “doing”. My brain seems to think like a “man on a mission”, and I know God will give me a grade card someday. I guess an “A” would stand for Awesome! ( Or A+?) But I’m so lost in the “doing”, and trying to do it better than before. It’s like in school, I knew if I gave it my “best”, then the grade was whatever it turned out to be. Yesterday was an awesome day to me. I worked 10 hours, did a great job, the boss was happy, kept up the Christian testimony, came home and grabbed my journal, a Christian book by Misty Edwards, took my dog and went down to the creek where my dog and I spent time with God beside a rippling creek, as I leaned back against a tree. That was awesome! Today I need to mow on yard, that will be awesome, too. (Whatever God has me “do”!) After the creek I came home and hit the blog sites. I’m not sure what my report card grade would be for yesterday? But it was a very good day! Hope you find peace with awesomeness, but with your definition, that will be hard to do! LOL! Good luck! (Glad to see you are still writing! That’s awesome! (By my definition. LOL, again.)

  6. JT says:

    Hey there Pardner,
    Ya, still slogging away here :-). I am trying to say what I think many believers, (not just me), struggle with. How to be excellent without stealing God’s Glory, if you know what I mean. 😉
    How is the Pup… is he turning out to be what you were looking for? Glad to hear you are well and keeping the faith!

Leave a Reply

