Boston Marathon Tragedy


It is with sadness that I watch as, what appears to be another terrorist attack spreads injury, death and fear into the hearts of the people here in Boston and indeed touching people all over the world.

American Flag

The death toll currently is at 2 with at least 23 injured. The sadness that I feel is first for those directly impacted by this senseless act. What bothers me deeply is the far-reaching and long-term effects this unnatural act places in the hearts and psyches of the countless multitudes. This day’s horrors will fade just as the countless horrific events of the past do. Unfortunately the long-term effects on how people feel, act, and do will change in varying levels of intensity… probably for the rest of their lives.

Personally my faith is a place where I grab hold of… all the more tightly as these events unfold and my thoughts and prayers go out to all the victims of this attack. It seems so meaningless to say these things and I suppose unless you share in my faith in Christ the idea that people are praying may seem even a bit heartless to say. But I do not say these things as a cliché but rather believe that my God can bring comfort and healing and peace. In fact I believe this is probably the single most effective thing I can do seeing that I am not an emergency worker or Doctor.

Animated Christian Flag

Animated Christian Flag (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I also pray that fear would be rebuked and not take hold of people’s hearts, that the enemy seeks to bring fear, therefore I pray the spirit of God would place a hedge around the hearts of all affected by this tragedy, that the enemy would get no victory here!

JT

An Update: 27 hours Later… 3 confirmed dead, 176 injured- 19 of them are in critical condition.

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Boston Marathon Tragedy

  1. Senseless!!! Just going about your day and then tragedy strikes:( I try not to live in fear and be aware of my surroundings and when it is my time I am ready to go – that is what gives me a sense of peace in living my life. Take Care

    • JT says:

      Hi Renee,
      At times like this it isn’t always easy to hold back the fear. I live close and had friends in the race. I hold on to Jesus and my family… thankful that I wasn’t directly impacted … still on some level I think we all are affected.

      • JT – yes hard not to fear let alone feel affected if not directly. I hope your friends are safe. I work in an office where I am the first line of security, so was a little on edge/high alert yesterday due to the nature of our office. I was exhausted by the time I got home yesterday and went to bed at 9 pm. Take Care – Be Blessed My Friend:)

      • JT says:

        Thank you Renee, all are safe… one of my friends is friends with the Richard Family from Dorchester, Please lift them up as the spirit leads.

      • JT – I read an article about the Martin Family and sending my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Jennwith2ns says:

    Well said–and well prayed, friend.
    I might do two reblogs tomorrow. Can this be one of them?

  3. Jennwith2ns says:

    Reblogged this on That's a Jenn Story and commented:
    Here’s the second Boston reblog for the day. I kind of want to call yesterday’s events The Second Boston Massacre . . .

  4. Amen I have no words but ….pray and seek justice!

Leave a Reply

