Is This Goodbye?


Well as I approach the 2 year mark of writing this blog I am contemplating that perhaps it has helped me in ways I had not given much thought about. Originally I had contemplated that perhaps spending some time writing would help me to become a better writer. Yet, I have no methods on which to measure such things apart from perhaps others comments and how much, or how little my readership has grown.

I do have some faithful follower’s whom I am most thankful for. They have persevered with me through the good the bad and the “Bizarre”.  As thankful as I am for their consistent presence, I am not certain whether or not to continue. I do enjoy the writing and perhaps I still will… time however is a precious commodity one which when spent is gone forever. If writing has purpose and promise then it is worth pursuing, if it lacks, and is not strengthened through the flexing and stretching of the creative and literal boundaries, if, it’s lackluster direction belies a sufficient drive to count it as purpose, then perhaps time would be better spent elsewhere.

In any event… thank you, I know they are small words probably made less meaningful via the medium in which they are delivered but heartfelt just the same.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Is This Goodbye?

  1. JT – I wish you the best in continuing to write or moving on to new adventures – Good Luck! Happy Monday:)

  2. Jennwith2ns says:

    “Like,” except not the self-doubt I read between these lines. I think you should do what you feel like, but I, for one, enjoy having your blog around.

    • JT says:

      Thanks Jenn, and your not wrong… as I mentioned to another commenter, I am not sure if liking something is reason enough to go on with it… perhaps I would spend my time more productively in other ways…?

  3. I find that like everything else, one’s writing needs periodic renewal to stay fresh, and taking a step back or away is probably a great way to gain new perspective. I, for one, hope you come back refreshed and energized anew. I wish you the best, whatever happens.

    When I tell other “serious” writers that at present I have no fiction projects brewing and most of my energy right now goes into blogging, the looks they give remind me that blogging is still the Rodney Dangerfield of writing – it don’t get no respect. The obvious question is, at this point in my life, whose ideas and rules am I going to follow?

    At the same time, there’s a strength in the overall lack of status in blogging. To my mind, there’s less ego clutter in the way of discovering things. As long as it’s a mode of discovering, testing, refining, ideas, I find it valuable. At those times where I get too attached to the results and the number of hits and likes, it gets burdensome, and I find I don’t do it so often.

    That’s my little dance at present. I hope yours brings you around again.

    • JT says:

      Thank you Morgan for that in depth and alter perspective. I do appreciate this kind of feedback and frankly, I am not certain whether or not my writing skills are improving. I have thought that perhaps I would blog 2 similar pieces, one from 2 years ago and one from the somewhat recent postings and ask the readership to give feedback. Problem is I am not convinced that would be the kind of honest critiquing I really need to have. I used to have some confidence in my communication skills and now perhaps I am questioning whether that confidence had any validity or was merely delusions of grandeur…so to speak, er… write.

      All this to say that maybe I am questioning whether just enjoying something is reason enough to keep doing something or would the time and energy be better spent in other ways? I am not sure at this point which direction to head off in.

  4. I know, as for me, JT, I have to feel like I have a “message” to speak, or a “passion” to write about. I love writing, but it must be coupled with something that burns inside of me or I begin to lose interest. Not everyone is like this. Some people just love to write and seem to be able to write about a variety of things, just for the joy of writing, I guess. Which type of writer do you see yourself as? And if there is a “message”, how would you describe it? Like I said, if you are like me, and if you have lost your message, then I know exactly how you feel. I have left off writing at times in my life, just until the focus and the fire returned. And it does return. I know you won’t make a decision without giving it a lot of thought. That is just the kind of person you are. Whatever you decide, hope you stay in touch. Be blessed, my friend.

    • JT says:

      Thank you Don, both for the encouragement and the affirmations. I guess I am struggling with purpose at the moment… is God’s purpose for me being helped or hindered by me spending this time and energy writing? Would this time be better spent in other ways…

  5. J.J. "Jenny" says:

    Hi,
    May you and your family be blessed. To a man with a big heart and bigger soul.
    Love in Christ, J.J. aka… “#47” ;0)

    • JT says:

      Hi JJ,
      How are you? It seems like forever ago now that we all were traipsing all over the place for Jesus! How is your son doing, I think of you guys sometimes and wonder how things are… are you still in that house in Worcester? Thanks for the encouraging words Jen 🙂

Leave a Reply

