What… were you talking to me?


So I was thinking the other day about how we sometimes can have these instances of having a conversation with ourselves, inside our brain that is, but if you tend to express yourself in writing you don’t share the conversation that’s inside your head, except, sometimes, maybe you do! My friend over at http://thatsajennstory.com/ does this sometimes and I find it often rather amusing and well I think she kinda hopes we find it amusing too… at least I think she does? If she doesn’t then I have some splainin to do.

It’s funny to think about it in this context because usually we don’t really think about it at all, (our self talk that is). But it also made me wonder a few things… Do we all do that, have this conversation in our heads sometimes?, and if so is the only difference between us and a schizophrenic person our ability not to say it out loud? Wait a minute… what if I really do say it out loud but nobody responds to me … perhaps it’s one big secret society out there and they are all working together to pretend I am not speaking out loud when I really am, or maybe they haven’t responded to me because they are having their own conversation in their head and are wondering why I haven’t responded to them!

So another question is, why? Why do we do this or at least why do some of us do this… are we hoping to validate some errant thought or perhaps cross check our logic… with our selves? I think I need to go to bed or should I stay up … but you just told them you were going to bed, won’t that make you a liar if you stay up? You have a point there, although I could just say I changed my mind… will you listen to yourself , they are surely going to think your off your rocker… What… were you talking to me?

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, humor, introspection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What… were you talking to me?

  1. I sometimes find myself talking out loud when no one’s home. I don’t know what that says about me…

  2. Ha! – loving your post:) I usually end up talking out loud with myself when I am upset about something and just need to get it out! Have a Great Day

Leave a Reply

