Dear Movie Goer, Parking Guru et al.


I decided to take my M&M to the movies for a belated birthday present over the weekend. It was the first time we had been on a date since November of last year and the first time to a theater since we saw “Cars” together in Europe the winter of 06-07.

We had lunch together first and walked over to the theater after our meal feeling quite satisfied and maybe even a bit euphoric not being at the beck and call of the young ones every 13 seconds. We decided to see Oz, The Great and Powerful and although it was a fair movie in it’s own right, I wouldn’t pay to see it again.  It wasn’t bad really but lacked the complexity and depth of a really good movie, unfortunately the norm it seems for the last 15 or so years.

Up until this point I was feeling pretty good about our date, I told Mrs. M&M that I would go get the car and pick her up at the door, seeing as I had parked about as far from the door as you could get, given it was a Saturday and that was the only parking space I could find…literally. So as I approach my car I see that the car next to me is parked close to my driver’s side and when I reach the car I find it was  Real Close as in 2 inches away! I say out loud to no one in particular “are you serious?” and begin to approach the other side of the car to begin the process of climbing over the center console…(I’m 6′, 5″ tall). As I approach the passenger side a piece of paper on the windshield catches my eye.

This is what it says… ” I have taken a picture of your parking job Don’t hit my car I have your plate #

Normally, I have a gentle spirit and roll with most things… I was seething!

Several scenarios started to develop in my mind as to how to respond to this:

Scenario 1. Pick up some dog feces and insert it under the door handle of their car.

Scenario 2. Call someone to give us a ride home and leave my car and the note where I found it and pick up my car the next day.

Scenario 3. Compose my own note saying: Dear movie going parking guru, PLEASE forgive my obvious lack of automotive positioning expertise. Your lack of class is only superseded by your obvious ignorance. Perhaps what I should have done to insure that parking justice was carried out for us all was write a note to the 2 cars that were parked on either side of me when I first had to find a parking spot. (Dear Morons…. did you have problems coloring inside the lines when you were a kid and it has spilled over now into your licensed driving privileges. I have taken photos of your crappy parking job and I am submitting them to the Prefect of Parking. I realize this may seem irrational but the halls of justice must prevail, especially when faced with such blatant infractions of parking decency!)

By the way I am watching you from a discreet location so don’t bother taking the dictionary out to read this… I have your plate # too.

Scenario 4. Put their note on their windshield and do nothing.

Which one would you use?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Movie Goer, Parking Guru et al.

  1. Why is there so much rudeness lately? Why does one have to park that close to make a POINT? I sorta like #3. Sorry to hear that you had to have this experience JT:( Especially on a date out day.

    • JT says:

      Thanks Renee, I guess what really turned me inside out is this person parked like that and then left ME the note! They could have parked somewhere else but went out of their way to do this and assumed I parked in 2 different spaces on purpose.

      • Renee says:

        I hear you – like Kindergarten mentality in doing it AND then having to take it one step further by leaving a NOTE! I had a real scary incident yesterday evening. The gym I go to just does not have enough parking, so I park across the street. There was me and one other person trying to cross the street – we had plenty of time to cross the street or so we thought until this driver speed up and came right at us. I could see the driver and he was so proud of himself in scaring the crap out of us. He could have killed someone.

      • JT says:

        OH my Gosh, People seem to be losing any sense of decency! Be Careful out there and keep your head up!

Leave a Reply

