A Disturbing Observation


Hi all, I am sharing this both as an FYI and/or an expose.

Driving today, I ended up behind a woman driving an SUV displaying 3 signs on the back of her vehicle:

1. “Moms Rock”

2. Masshole

3 “Yes I am a B_ _ _ _, so F______G what!

Is this the new generation?

Has vulgar language become so common place it no longer has shock value!?

Is this the message we now want to send to all those we share the road with?

Are her children old enough to read?

And a host of other questions as well. I’m still an old-fashioned guy who finds this stuff disturbing and it saddens me as well. I don’t want to judge others and certainly tolerance is something we need if we wish to be a peacemaker, however I also wonder at what point tolerance becomes someones license to create societal abuse?

I pray that this “new freedom to express ourselves” is clothed in a desire to improve our tolerance, concern and respect for others. I don’t know how much more of, “It’s all about me” we can take.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Disturbing Observation

  1. Great Post! I am all for freedom of speech and expressing yourself. If it is not harming me, I try not to take offense and re-focus on something else if possible. I have been verbally attacked (up in my face, pointing and poking fingers at me) in public settings for speaking up in the past and now just reigned it in and refrain from saying anything – less hassle, less stress, less confrontation in a public setting. Have a Great One:)

    • JT says:

      Hi Renee,
      I hear you, I tend to be the same, I don’t say anything… part of me sometimes wonders if this is the best way to handle it or not. I don’t think going after people in a confrontational way is the way to address it either, but I wonder if it is possible to approach someone in love and say… Hey listen I just want you to know that these things come across in such and such a way and maybe that wasn’t what your intention was but… Anyway just food for thought I guess. Take care and thanks for sharing your experiences 🙂

  2. I always figure that slogan bumper stickers and most vanity plates are “all about me” regardless of the language. I *try* to use the bumper stickers as a cause for compassion, since it’s clear that no one so desperate to be noticed, or who imagines that mass produced slogans will make them seem clever, can possibly be very happy.

    Aggressive bumper stickers like the ones you saw are one of many indications to me of a huge undercurrent of frustration, fear, and dissatisfaction right now. In the 30’s, Nathaniel West wrote a scary novel called “Day of the Locust,” about such sentiments boiling over into a riot in Hollywood, where everyone was supposed to be happy and no one was.

    • JT says:

      I seem to recall that title although I can’t honestly say whether I read it or not.
      I do agree with you that there is a great level of frustration and dissatisfaction and I tend to blame the rather monstrous and ever growing appetite of a society who has been pitched a lie that say’s stuff will satisfy. perhaps we could write a novel with that as a premise? 🙂

  3. As we come into the last days, more and more the message simply needs to be about a blood stained Cross. The book of Revelation is the book of the last days and it says they overcame him by the 1. Blood of the Lamb. 2. Word of their testimony (Gospel message.) 3. Loved not their lives even unto death. I don’t think pointing out heathens sins really accomplishes much. But if they hear the Gospel message and get saved, the bumper stickers will eventually go away. I guess my question is, are we, the Church, failing in our mission to save this once Christian nation? And does anyone think we are going to figure this problem out and get it turned around? Unless the people of God are willing to come back to II Chron. 7:14, I think we will continue to fail. I’m about to challenge a group of guys with this very thing tonight. I guess I might ought to write about that. Coming soon!

    • JT says:

      I agree that we should not expect a people who are still separated from God to act as if they weren’t. Still, there was a time not so long ago when regardless of where people were on the spiritual spectrum there was a unwritten code so to speak of decency that seems to be eroding faster and faster. When we observe this it is at once sorrowful and exciting. 1) because our compassion (hopefully) for others that live without hope, increases. and, 2) the fulfillment of prophecy is a further affirmation that indeed the scriptures are accurate and living testimony to the truth and hope we cling to.

      • I agree about the erosion, but why was there a higher standard back then, even among the heathen? Have we, as the church, dropped the ball? Was it the church that set the standard then, and now we are failing to do the same? Can it be turned around? What did the church do then, that were not doing now? I know there is no easy answer to this, but I can’t help feeling like we need to do something more than we are, except it is like we have passed a point of no return. We had our men’s meeting tonight and they accepted my challenge. I will likely make the details of this the very next article I write about.

Leave a Reply

