Is God a Feminist?


So, you are probably reading this because of my choice of such a provocative title, good, (we the bloggers are always trying to (hook) you into reading). However if you habitually use these kinds of titles without something substantive to back it up, well, then you probably get a reputation for that and people stop reading you altogether… I would imagine.

Lately I have been reading the book of Luke, I like Luke and his detail oriented account of things, in irony, this does tend to make me ask more questions, I guess because the more you know the more you want to know, or at least I do. He gives an early account of Zechariah and Elizabeth and how Zechariah while about his priestly duties, has a jaw dropping moment where this angel, (Gabriel) of the Lord let’s him know he is going to be a daddy. Now he responds, ” How shall I know this? For my wife is advanced in years.”

So now lets fast forward a bit and  a little bit further in this same first chapter of Luke it gives the account of this same messenger, Gabriel coming to Mary and saying guess what you are highly favored by God and so you are going to have a baby and you are going to call him Jesus. Now, she replies, “How can this be, since I do not know a man?”.

So here is where a few questions pop into my mind, as we continue both segments. I can almost envision this angel, Gabriel, as Zechariah utters his question of “How shall I know this?” Gabriel, rising up in disbelief as if to say, how can this fool not believe me given the veracity and method of delivery… paraphrasing here, Therefore since you have doubted me you will be rendered mute until these things come to pass.  Meanwhile when Mary expresses the same kind of question, Gabriel is the great comforting friend, psst… don’t worry Mary God’s got you covered. I am saying to myself hold on Harry and the Henderson’s, Whatchu talking about Willis.  What just happened here?

Now I know my descriptions exaggerated the attitudes and I am not looking to go off into this highly intellectualized pursuit of some spiritual blow-harding. But I just wonder about stuff like this.  Do You?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is God a Feminist?

  1. You are a very brave man to ask such questions after seeing what happened to Zechariah. LOL!

  2. JT says:

    Lol , I have a bit of a conundrum though… my wife’s name is Mary not Elizabeth 🙂

Leave a Reply

