That’s the Night the Lights went Out in… Er Louisiana?


In light of the recent snafu at the Super Bowl, or lack thereof, I had to say something. I tuned in to the game at about 16 minutes into the outage and   tuned out 30 minutes later.

From what I have gathered I saw the most interesting part of the game for someone who is only a fair weather fan for his hometown team, let alone some other team that knocked my team out. It seems the hype has turned to the commercials over the last few years… I remember when we used to hate the commercials, or at least strongly dislike them. The tear jerk-er Clydesdale spot seems to have been a favorite and the use of the late Paul Harvey seems to have stirred some controversy… didn’t see either one so I can’t really speak from an informed point of view, however I always liked listening to “the rest of the story”.

Anyway, the thing that seems to have ended up in the limelight is the lack of lights in the Super Dome for about 34 minutes… not so great for the advertisers I guess, still I suppose it could go a long way towards stopping long enough to smell the roses… and that is lot cheaper than trying to buy them.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That’s the Night the Lights went Out in… Er Louisiana?

  1. Ha! – loving your post. I was not able to watch the Super Bowl this year and seems like I really did not miss much – watch the Budweiser commericial online. Happy Tuesday:)

  2. The best tweet I saw during the outage said, “Hey America, remember how long it took you to get our lights back on after Katrina? Just sayin'”

    My team wasn’t in the Super Bowl this year, so I watched for the commercials. In the proverbial words of the revered Shania Twain, “That don’t impress me much!”

    • JT says:

      Yeah, I heard the commercials left a lot to be desired. Maybe they could come up with a commercial station to flip to while the junk commercials are on? 🙂

Leave a Reply

