I Shall Not Want…


Recently I have been reading through the Psalms, I have also started to pull apart pieces I am committing to memory to look at what not only the writer was intimating but also what am I in turn looking to make part of my own foundation.

In the 23rd Psalm the first two lines have stopped me in my tracks. “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want”. The application of this not only as a perspective in my life but also a call to something far more reaching than I had ever given thought to before. At first the application, particularly as we approach Christmas seems like a quick reminder… stuff is not what I should be after. After deeper consideration, I have started to ask myself some questions. What should I not want? Actually that says it poorly. If I adopt this creed, “I shall not want”  I can’t really consider that apart from, The Lord is my Shepherd”.

Is the Lord my Shepherd, yes… well maybe sometime yes. Maybe he is not my shepherd if my want, supersedes my desire for the Lord to be my Shepherd. Is it the wanting that is bad or is it the distraction that the wanting causes, I suppose we could say they are one in the same, yet if I separate the first part from the second they take on different connotations when viewed separately, and what is it that I want anyway?

If I take away material things what wants are left, health, peace, happiness, love, kindness, are obvious choices. Less obvious and too, disconcerting, to be viewed as good, to have others speak well of me, to receive accolades from friends, co-workers, family because of my good doing. Self glorifying and self-serving desires. This is a much deeper meditation than when I first started. They say that there is a death that occurs when we “Lay down our life and pick up our cross to follow him”… this is I know is somewhat symbolic, and is supposed to represent the transferring of control from me to Jesus. This is also where all the wars that matter begin from. I shall not want, until or unless the Lord is my Shepherd.

Interesting thoughts and certainly in my mind ones worthy of consideration. This is shaping want I may consider for my Christmas list. Have you ever considered these things? What have you discovered in your own meditations?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Shall Not Want…

  1. I have thought about this before and sometimes is in the back of my head, especially with greed and wants now that the Holidays are upon us. Great post today – very important reminder too. Being more aware as a person can be an enlightening experience! Have a Great One:)

    • JT says:

      Thanks Renee, I guess I have been looking a little deeper, at times my faith seems superficial. I am really seeking to have a deeper and more genuine relationship with Jesus and part of that is I think exposing some of what I skipped over lightly in the past.

Leave a Reply

