I recently wrote a post about aging parents and the weight of caring for them. One of my blogging friends responded and shared this post of her own experiences. This is a tremendous testimony and I just thought it was worth sharing with you all.

Future.Flying.Saucers

My father-in-law has a clogged artery in his neck which has caused vascular dementia. In September 2009, he had digressed enough to be placed in a hospital bed permanently. The family had a choice: find a nursing home to care for him, or keep him at home.

My husband is the youngest of 5 kids. They, plus my mother-in-law, decided to keep him at home. They came up with shifts to help. Each sibling was assigned a Sunday morning to come and stay while my MIL went to church. The 3 brothers rotated the evenings to come and help put Papa to bed each evening. The 2 sisters swapped Saturdays back and forth to help out. Over the past year, the kids and I have tried to spend every Tuesday lunchtime with her and help around the house.

View original post 474 more words

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

