The Crisis of Faith at the Crossroad of Belief, Part 3


A mindful look at what it looks like to live out faith causes me to pause. At moments it is seemingly easy to postulate that I Love my God, at other times some invocation or reminder is necessary to stir the thought that, that was/is my goal. The practice of walking out my faith more closely resembles the gyrations of an amusement park ride than the slow and steady climb I desire it to emulate.

The renewing of our minds, though easy to read and regurgitate back to the culture that embodies us, is hardly so pretty as to pack nicely in some pre-formed box. Amidst these gyrations I invariably find occasion to want to renew the commitment I once proclaimed, particularly at some emotional moment of crisis or clarion call from the pulpit. At the same time I find myself wanting the renewal, the juxtaposition of striving to accomplish said same renewal through my works leaves me twisted inside.

Ultimately it leads I think to the most unnatural place, a place that again seems so easy to verbalize and yet so difficult to reach, total surrender! What does that surrender look like? It is the antithesis of what we are often molded to believe. Living in New England, (some would say the birthplace of self-sufficiency) we pride ourselves on hiking up our suspenders and adopting the attitude that we can endure all things, not in Christ, but in our ability to overcome all adversity. More likely, it is not just geography but human nature to adopt such an attitude.

So I ask again as some others have asked before and some now ask, What does surrendering our ideas, desires, wants and perceived needs look like?
What do you think it would look like?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Crisis of Faith at the Crossroad of Belief, Part 3

  1. Paul Miller says:

    Maybe it begins with the acceptance that everything comes from God, it isn’t my boss that provides me with work for example, but God, and I can trust Him, He will provide, just maybe not in the way I expect. I move forward without trying to control every detail. I always found it hard to comprehend what people mean when they suggest to “just let go..” until the moment I actually do it, then the illuminating moment comes and this peace comes over me. It seems to always start with a step in obedience, and a letting go of what I want, a denying of myself perhaps. Take my eyes off myself and look to Christ.

    • JT says:

      Amen, Paul, I will say that there is a continual war between the intellectual side of our faith and the spiritual. We can acknowledge what we need to do in order to experience the walking out of our faith, acknowledgment however is a thought not an action. I think as you so aptly stated that the letting go is not just a mental assent to how we experience our faith but the action which often precedes the strengthening of our faith i.e. DOING what we know we should before receiving the blessing or reward of the action. Hope all is well with you and your family!

  2. mybroom says:

    perhaps there is a further dimension than the intellectual and the responding action that has very little to do with us ~ the notion that we are hidden in the work of Christ simply by seeing its value and declaring ‘Yes that is for me’ and subsequently learning to confidently rest in him!! cheers Graeme

    • JT says:

      Amen Graeme, Hidden in Christ indeed, perspective is a funny thing it changes throughout our lives, continually coming back to who we are in Christ is a I think a discipline worthy of the peace it engenders. Being caught up in the day to day often interrupts our perspective hence the need to be seeking Him with our whole heart , mind, strength. Thank you for reading and commenting. Peace to you my friend!

Leave a Reply

