Today! The aftermath of Sandy provides a tremendous opportunity…


Today, I turned on the faucet and water came out, with some adjustment it was exactly the temperature I wanted.

Today I turned on the lights, they filled the room with light and drove out all the darkness.

Today I was not cold or hungry.

Today I was safe and went through my day without fear.

Today is a day when I must choose to either live with the blessing and give no thought, or choose to see where there is need and determine to do more than give thought.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Today! The aftermath of Sandy provides a tremendous opportunity…

  1. Awesome Reminder – I know I take certain things for granted on a daily basis!

  2. It is an overwhelming revelation when we realize how true Jesus words are, and how sad, when he said the fields are white unto harvest, but the laborers are “few”. This world we live in is so freak’n full of NEEDS! As the people of God we step out to help save the world and we find we are quickly overwhelmed by so much opportunity consisting of very real and legitimate NEEDS! I just tried to help a family with 4 young girls and a baby boy, this last weekend. In the end, what happened really made no sense, sad to say. Yes, I hope the body of Christ who are able to help in that situation are on top of it, but I also realize what an overwhelming task it must surely be. I try not to think about just how much pain there is in this fallen world. I am a very faith filled optimistic person, but there is also the reality that a lot of bad things happen, and the pain is very REAL when it is happening to YOU.

    • JT says:

      I agree Don there is a tremendous amount of need, during devotions today I began to see a snapshot of this world through God’s eyes… it overwhelmed me.

      • yes, I have felt the same thing. I can’t imagine how stressed out some of those people in NYC must be. Call me crazy, but in my mind that area is a very dark place. United Nations, Wall Street, One World Trade Center, and now the Muslem mosque. It just seems to keep getting darker.

Leave a Reply

