Funny on Friday… or Not


funny sign

funny sign (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Humor, it takes on so many variations depending on style, timing, intent, audience and personality. I love to be funny but I find it much more difficult to write funny. Often, when I respond to someone else I will try to be funny, (the operative word here is TRY). Of course physical comedy in this medium is the most difficult to pull off, the best I can hope for is to paint a vivid enough word picture that the reader can’t help laughing at the hieroglyphics left from my attempts.
I have to admit I love to make people laugh but I am just not very good at it, there is definitely an art to humor and although you can practice to fine tune your delivery it really is more of a natural gift. There are times when I am more funny than others for instance I tend to be much more humorous first thing in the morning, while in my bathrobe, standing in front of a mirror… at least that’s where I do most of my laughing. Of course humor usually is dependent on others for it’s success, not that I am inviting you over for coffee by the commode, but more, that if I am the only one laughing it kind of defeats the idea of liking to make other people laugh. Then, there are those people who have the wrong kind of mouth for comedy, I think you know the ones I am talking about? I don’t think their mouth is broken per say, it just doesn’t curve up in the corners very easily… I think that’s what finally opened up the field of plastic surgery.

One of the difficulties I come upon is the conflicting emotions in me when I am being funny, and the person I am expending all this energy for is not laughing and I am so certain they must be someone who’s mouth is broken or needing surgery, and then when I stop trying to be funny suddenly their smiling like a baby after a bottle! It is then that I realize they must be one of those mean-spirited people who takes great pleasure in someone

The Stooges examine Moe's muscle (or lack ther...

The Stooges examine Moe’s muscle (or lack thereof) in Snow White and the Three Stooges. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Else’s pain! Of course in humor this is not unusual  at all, The “Three Stooges” thrived on this kind of humor.
Why is it that someone sliding down a bannister, ( particularly a male), and the shot opens up so you can see the protruding ball at the end of the bannister can so readily elicit, a laugh. Honestly we are a sadistic people either that or we just watched far to many episodes of the “Road Runner as children. I can tell you one thing none of my attempts at humor

There They Go-Go-Go!

There They Go-Go-Go! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

have ever involved any props purchased from Acme…it is obvious their stuff is all defective!

Have a Fabulous Weekend!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in humor, Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Funny on Friday… or Not

  1. Jennwith2ns says:

    The REALLY difficult thing is being funny when talking about being funny. I have no idea how to do that!

Leave a Reply

