The Knowing and The UnKnowing


 

Literature the written expression borne of the minds motivated by the imaginations and is the creative or at times not so creative expression of facts, ideas, stories real or imagined that for some reason we desire to share. Literary ideals it seems are as varied as those who hold them whether it is the free-spirited teller of tales who is less concerned with proper grammatical expression than the moving of the mind from reality to fantasy or the essayist who re-writes their suppositions so many times the circular file beside them spills over in a slow motion display of a paper waterfall in their efforts to get every nuance exactly as it should be, and as many other nuances as there are adjectives to describe them in between the two extremes.

What has recently come to my mind is the differences between the knowing and the unknowing. The platform from which we write, I think for the most part sub-consciously, impacts not only how we view what we have written, but also whether or not we should receive credit for it’s originality or not. Put another way if we believe in a transcendent God that has created all things and is expressed through all things, our claims for creativity and originality will be couched in a philosophy that says that though I may have been a vessel through which these things have come out I cannot take credit for them… I am merely expressing what the creator has purposed within me. Conversely,  if you ascribe to the belief that there is no God then there is no basis for abstaining from the claim of originality because where else could it have come from.

This then opens up an interesting line of questions:

If one holds a belief in God, how might that belief impact the writings of someone who holds the opposing view, will you still read it?

Can a writer present a fictional tale, meant only for entertainment to someone who may have a problem with who gets the credit and even if who gets the credit isn’t an issue supporting the work by purchasing it may deepen the justification of the opposing view which could have eternal significance? or does it ?

Is this something anyone even thinks about?

Is our belief cursory or is it deep enough to impact such thoughts as this.

Have we come to a place in our culture where the lighthearted, free and easy, do it if it feels good mentality supersedes our need to be self-disciplined and self-critical?

Will anyone bother trying to answer any of these things in anything other than a casual way because it simply isn’t worth expending the mental energy?

I have decided not only is it much easier to ask questions, but, I have far more questions than answers. Thanks for reading!

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, humor, introspection, Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Knowing and The UnKnowing

  1. L. Palmer says:

    While I try to keep the tone of my blog light and friendly, my choices on what to write about and what to stay stem deeply from my personal beliefs and moral standards. I try to keep religion and my belief in God out of it as a matter of avoiding conflict, but I think those who have similar beliefs to mine can sense my underlying foundation.

    • JT says:

      L I can understand that entirely, although I have to admit I struggle with where exactly to draw that line .. there seems to be a delicate balance between being sensitive to others and hiding our light, if you know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

