A Little Help From My Friends?


Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t been posting as much lately… most have probably breathed a sigh of relief.  My family and I have begun to explore some new directions and this has begun to take up a considerable amount of my time.

The past few years I have been employed in the human services field. This has been a time of great challenges as well as a time of seeking some direction. Prior to working in this field we were living in Romania and working with friends of ours with a new church plant in a small town called Moreni. When we went there we were planning on doing this work for years, instead we were back in the states after barely a year. Sometimes we make plans… and sometimes they even work, but all times I am thinking it is better that we are open to a change in plans. Finding ourselves back in the USA with no job little money and a baby on the way left me crying out to my God and scrambling looking for something to hold on too. I wasn’t afraid for our daily needs but this was the beginning of a time in wondering what path into the future should we consider.

Here we are a little over 5 years later and still I have no real clear sense of a direction and to be honest I am beginning to believe that perhaps this is where we are supposed to be. Maybe it is here in this place where I don’t have to have a plan… that  we can rest in the faith that God has a plan for us already. I started to think about who I am, this conglomeration of molecules creating matter that houses a soul and a mind and a spirit. I  started considering what is it that we were created to do…. we are created to do that which we do, but what we do isn’t that big a deal. The how and the why we do is the big deal.

I have an entrepreneurial mindset. I have had this for as long as I can remember, even at 10 years of age I was selling greeting cards and had a paper route. I went through a period of time struggling  and asking myself if I wanted to be a business owner simply for what it might do for me and not how God could use me. I have had several businesses over the years and sold them all. Now I realize that I have been running away from what I was afraid of.  “to whom much is given, much is required” I have been given a lot, unfortunately I have been burying it in the ground.

Fear, takes many forms and it drives us to places we should not go, but fear is the opposite of faith, and so what I need is more faith.

I would like to ask you to join with me in whatever way you may feel comfortable and ask My God to give me more faith. I also will ask him for whatever it is you share with me that you may need.  I know this post is disjointed and in places nonsensical that’s OK Humor me and Thank You in advance for your help.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life, Romania and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Little Help From My Friends?

  1. May God grant you wisdom as you determine His plan for you. 🙂

  2. I will pray that God continues to work in your life to increase your measure of faith. Something to ponder here though. 1 Corinthians 13:13 says (NIV) And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

    But I always like to go back to the KJV I grew up with where “love” was translated as charity.

    You said “The how and the why we do is the big deal.” You also said “I have been given a lot, unfortunately I have been burying it in the ground.” Hmmmmmmmm….

    1 Corinthians 13 tells us how all 3 of these must exist in harmony, but it clearly says love (charity) is the greatest. Maybe your faith IS increased by sharing your love and what God has blessed you with?

    • JT says:

      Hmm, maybe, I guess I was dealing more with the fear, and that fear was really a lack of faith, so yea they definitely are all connected 🙂 Thanks Mama

  3. Hmmm, what is going on? My 2 favorite blogs cutting back? (You and Sean.) And at the same time I find myself very busy and cutting back on writing, too. I’m busy doing a lot of very good things, but I have noticed the less I write, the more the hunger to write again is growing in me. I will soon be making some choices. Writing simply must be a larger portion of my life. I know I want to continue to develop a Life Group that multiplies into several Life Groups. So maybe that will be my focus. That being my job (50 hrs a week), the Life Group, family, and writing. Sean says he has been really busy also, but you sound like you are on the verge of making some very big decision, a real step of faith, hence the request for less fear and more faith. “no real clear sense of a direction…perhaps this is where we are supposed to be.” New directions? The old, or something new. A vision? Okay, to that I say, you have my prayers! May your heart fall in love with God’s answer, and may it be fearless!!!

    • JT says:

      Hey Don, I am contemplating some changes that could dramatically affect my family’s finances and direction, but I am in no rush.. still waiting on the Lord to be careful this is not me being foolish. I think you have to follow what the spirit is leading you to do regardless of how things may feel or look . Writing isn’t for you Don… it’s for others in fact I think the more we realize that the easier it gets to transition out of our safety nets.

  4. Will be thinking of you and your family. I am right there with you on the needing more faith during these uncertain days. I hope things get clearer and easier for you with each passing day 🙂 Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. Managing to post a bit more but that’s about it. I’ll try to tune in more often!

Leave a Reply

