How are you feeling about Nov. 6th?


 

Election Day is fast approaching and never in my life have I felt so conflicted. The media hyperbole on the process, for me, is the equivalent of dragging my nails down a chalkboard while simultaneously having my teeth drilled at the dentist. A fellow blogger friend recently mentioned the polarizing nature of politics these days and hypothesized that it is perhaps a systemic problem in our current political party system. I tend to agree, but not to loudly because then someone may point a finger in my direction and say well why don’t you do something about it.

It is far easier for me to look from the outside and pontificate on how broken the system is, to rail against the injustices and wonton waste, to complain and gripe about the loss of our rights, to bemoan the fact that both sides of the party find it exceptionally easy to spend other people’s money, to categorize and label the ineptitude of our officials to use common sense, to exalt my own justifications on how it should go.

I don’t like the choices for President, I don’t want to accept “the lesser of 2 evils” as some have put it. It isn’t that I am polarized by my party, (I am an independent), the fact is though both candidates have some positive ideas, the ideas can’t be separated from the rest of the package and …frankly, in my estimation both packages miss the mark on how to turn this country around. and as long as we are on the subject how many others feel the same way, (and if this is a larger problem then my lone voice on some nondescript blog here in the digital realm), how many of us won’t vote because of this chasm of conscience. Whether consciously or subconsciously I guess I  and perhaps you are polarized on the issues facing us at this very important time.

This is just me… But really, How do you feel?

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, introspection, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How are you feeling about Nov. 6th?

  1. Walt says:

    I think I will vote. But it is tempting not to vote. Then if things are not as I wished I could complain about him or her and say, “I didn’t vote for ?????”.

    • JT says:

      I want to vote, but, I want to vote for someone who cares more about us as a nation than they do about their popularity ratings!I want someone who has vision and who is afraid to say no more spending. Maybe I will write you in on the ticket Walter 🙂

  2. We have a system soooooooooo far from what our founding fathers EVER intended for our SERVANTS in government. It wasn’t supposed to be a career, it wasn’t supposed to be about who has the most money, and it certainly wasn’t supposed to be about which public relations team can best spin the other sides comments to make them look bad.

    But still, I’ll vote…………..

  3. Jennwith2ns says:

    How do I feel? Totally fed up. And I will vote. But I’m afraid it will be like ordering at a restaurant for me: I always am deciding between two and never know which I’m going to pick until the server comes by and I open my mouth and an order comes out. Only, unlike restaurant eating, I’m not looking forward to either choice…

    • JT says:

      I wonder if I should just write in someone…. I struggle because in a way I guess it’s like not voting at all, I don’t know It really bothers me and I just can’t in good conscience vote for either one… arg :-/

  4. Although I’ve been a registered Republican since 1976, I’ve pretty much voted democratically since 1994. Obama’s Affordable Care Act got me back with health insurance after a nine-year denial by the health insurance industry, so he’s getting my vote if for nothing else than that.

Leave a Reply

