Who’s Using My Money?


The world today seems to be moving so fast, maybe too fast! I realize that over the last 100 years or so, that every generation has probably said the same thing. I suppose it was, and is just as true then as it is now. technologies change so rapidly that we are just in the process of adjusting to one when either a new one comes along that supersedes the one before it, or we are still trying to figure out the old one and aren’t even aware it is already obsolete.

One of these areas of fast-moving technology is in the financial sector. Once upon a time we had to wait for a bank to open it’s doors to cash a check, deposit or withdraw funds or open a new account. Nowadays, our checks often are deposited electronically and the money moving out of our accounts never sees the light of day. With all this new efficiency comes some new risks as well, as I recently learned.

English: Sample ATM card which can be distingu...

English: Sample ATM card which can be distinguished from a credit card or debit card by the absence of such features as network logotype on the front. Created by Sergio Ortega on April 16, 2008, based on existing standards. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I received a phone message the other day, the caller identified themselves as being a representative of the credit card fraud dept and that one of my cards had been placed on hold with the card number ending in the last 4 digits _ _ _ _ and to please call them back in order to resolve the issue.

Immediately, when I get an unsolicited call, I become skeptical, with all the scam’s out there today of unscrupulous people trying to get our personal information in order use our identities and steal from us, the suspicion meter is stuck on high. Well I didn’t call them back, and the next day when I tried to use my atm card, (as you might have guessed) it didn’t work. (As an aside here, it amazes me how I have to learn this lesson over and over again that I take things for granted until suddenly for some reason what I have taken for granted gets interrupted or changed.)

So guess who was making a call to the cc fraud department pronto. The call revealed that within minutes of each other charges were being attempted on the same card 1000 miles apart. First, let me say I am glad that the system is set up to flag such an occurrence, and that, because the system caught it so quickly, the culprit was shut down immediately from wreaking further havoc. Now, because this happened, my natural inclination is to wonder how it happened? I try to take all precautions when using my card especially online. I have to admit I haven’t a clue how my card # was compromised, and that really bothers me… furthermore, I wonder how I can prevent it from happening, perhaps even more concerning is the idea that apart from not using my card at all is there a way to stop it from happening again?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

