The World Stopped….or My Altered Reality!


Amidst the political shark-fest, the impending doom of rising seas, the barrage of the nightly news cast of everything not right in the world, and naming the tropical waves coming off the coast of Africa, I stopped for a few days to smell the roses (virtual).

The very real trials and tribulations are never far from our awareness, and living as if my head were perpetually buried in the sand, (although attractive sounding) is a fruitless exercise in avoiding reality. But taking a periodic step out of information overload is not only welcomed, I think it is necessary to keep a sense of balance and perspective.

English: Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine

English: Long Sands Beach in York Beach, Maine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Taking a day trip to York Beach, ME was just what the doctor ordered, and speaking of ordering I had an order of steamers at Foster’s Clambake in York (town of) that were absolutely worth the trip. As an aside steamers are either a love it, or hate it kind of appetizer, I grew up with them so there is no room for squeamish in my constitution, for those of you who didn’t grow up with them the idea of putting such a thing in your mouth causes your body to pucker in various places.

The down side of the day trip is… well, the fact that it was Just a day trip. Driving 2 hours to spend 4 hours doing nothing in particular and then driving another 2 hours back is a tease that really only whets the appetite for something more substantial in the getaway department. The upside was cruising along with the people I love beside me, the music we love coming from the speakers, and a complete lack of any important information assaulting my senses. Yeah I thought, I could get used to this, and my mind began to wander…thinking about buying a little place near the shore and creating unique wooden artifacts to sell to the locals and the tourist trade. Walking the sandy shore early in the day

Cape Neddick (

Cape Neddick (“Nubble”) Lighthouse, York Beach, Maine, U.S.A. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

before the sun fully emerges on the horizon, my wife and I using photography and creativity to produce satisfying expressions of the simple life and take home souvenirs of the memories. And the smell of the salty air…. well, anyway it was nice to think about.  I hear reality calling.

JT

P.S. Rumor has it this is one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world!

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in food, freedom, health, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The World Stopped….or My Altered Reality!

  1. Yes, the simple life. I suspect we all have our “simple life” dreams. Or maybe not. Some people seem to thrive on climbing the ladder of success and material things. Don’t get me wrong, I believe in both, but I also love simplicity and balance. My dream involves living as a writer. I would write my stories in simple places, where I can dream, imagine, think, and hear God very plainly. The sound of waves rolling onto a sandy beach would be a wonderful back-drop. Or the wind through mountain evergreens. I love both. I have my firtst book coming out soon, by the way. However, I have no delusions that it could ever be my living. That would be a dream come true. Now you got me dreaming again. Thanks, JT.

  2. Wildgrain says:

    Boy that sounds great! I could really use a day away like that! It takes us 2 hours to get to either coast, Things have been stressful this year and the news can get depressing. Thanks for sharing the respite. Well, “you gotta’ have a dream or how you gonna’ have a dream come true?”

    • JT says:

      Sorry it’s been so difficult this year… being stretched and tested and building character and perseverance although perhaps necessary are not things we look forward to or embrace. Praying you are both embraced with the love and peace that passes understanding 🙂

      • Wildgrain says:

        Thank you, John. It’s also a little sad when you come the end of an ‘era’. We had to sell our camper and that’s like clipping a bird’s wings. We are adjusting but it’s been difficult letting go. Reading about your trip brings back memories and I appreciate your sharing them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

