An Experiment Explained


Many of you have probably heard the cliché’ “Do Random acts of kindness”. The sentiment is lovely but by and large UN-practiced… at least by me. Not that I can’t or won’t do something nice for someone else, more that I am usually motivated to do something nice for someone else because of some underlying motive… usually self-serving. Before you look down your nose at me or someone else though, I would ask that you take a brutally honest look at your attitudes and motivations to determine if indeed you can say you’re any different.

I don’t bring this up as an item of judgement on myself or anyone else but more an inquisitor of why this seems to be true. Justification comes easily because the fact is I am busy and focused on tasks of necessity. I don’t have the time or the resources etc.

So I wonder if  I really consider this a worthwhile objective and if so what kind of things would I need to change in my own life in order to develop this into an habitual mindset and attitude?  I also decided that perhaps I could quantify what this would look like when displayed daily. Here are my thoughts so far:

1. These acts should be motivated by a desire to give without receiving.

2. Random doesn’t have to mean unplanned.

3. I desire to bless, change, or improve someone’s day or perspective can happen with something as simple as a smile.

4. When possible being anonymous with the act promotes the greatest satisfaction and benefit.

5. By focusing on others and the situations they are involved in our own problems shrink or disappear.

The reason I wrote the post on Friday was to try to create some accountability without sharing my intentions to anyone specific. This was just one way I hope to try to develop this into a habit rather than an occasional occurrence. Like anything else we want to change, it does take effort and practice, and just like quitting a bad habit starting a good habit may take many attempts before I succeed.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, introspection, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Experiment Explained

  1. #5… AMEN!! Was just listening to something about that this morning and thinking that it’s about time I implemented it myself. Great post! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

