A Million Stories


Recently I was perusing some of the other blogs here at “WordPress” and I started thinking about the fact that so many stories are here. On average just here on “WordPress” there are about half a million bloggers, producing on average 3/4 of a million posts a day.

I am just one story in this melting pot and I read a few other blogs on a regular basis. Just for giggles I contemplated how long it would take me to read just one days worth of posts on “WordPress” and realized this lifetime would not be enough.If I think on this too long it really becomes overwhelming that so many people with so many stories and I really would like to read many of them, but alas it is unrealistic… I need to stick to my one small story.

Like so much else in this life balance in the digital realm is just as important I guess. But maybe it’s better this way, after all how many really important, close, personal relationships can one truly develop. Having a few meaningful contacts really can add so much to our daily lives, but as an aspiring writer I of course would love to be read by millions, sometimes when I realize how small I am in this big world it makes me wonder if perhaps that isn’t really a possibility, in fact, I even wonder if I ever wrote something that many would want to read, how might that change my life and in so changing my life would I in fact end up worse off than when I started?

I recently read one young woman’s blog where her story made me think carefully about how to respond. It made me realize, our stories in many ways become interconnected. As we read others stories and comment on them in many small and seemingly insignificant ways we are depositing in others lives for good or for ill. There is a burden there to be sure that what I say builds up and doesn’t tear down, to think that my small story may in some ways bring a positive change in someone else’ s story I have decided is more than enough of a reason to keep sharing my own.

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, introspection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Million Stories

  1. Donald Miller says:

    Reblogged this on Donald Miller's Journal and commented:
    A good attitude to have about blogging.

  2. Donald Miller says:

    “after all how many really important, close, personal relationships can one truly develop.”

    I’ve thought about that myself. My conclusion is– not many. Christopher Hitchens was a gregarious guy, who could hang out with anyone he wanted. Usually it was the cream of the crop of writers/thinkers. So, I was surprised when he was on the Charlie Rose Show and when Charlie mentioned Christopher’s friends he said, “I don’t have any friends. Those are acquaintances.”

    He was probably feeling down at the time, because I never heard him say that again. (His friends probably read him the riot act. (But it can seem that way.)

    • JT says:

      Thanks Donald, yes not many is the reality. At times I have felt close to more than a few, but over time I have realized it is the ebb and flow of this life I really only have 2 friends that are close beyond my wife and frankly there really isn’t enough time in a day to really invest in more than that… not that I wouldn’t like to, it just isn’t practical.

      • Donald Miller says:

        Friendship is an interesting subject. I once read where men and women define friendship differently. For instance, women define a friend as someone they can talk to, while men define it as having someone they do things with.

        Before getting online, I was definitely in the camp of those who defined it as an activity-oriented relationship. I remember a woman saying she was my friend, and I was thinking, how’s that—all we do is talk. (I’m not referring to biological activity.)

        However, since going online, I obviously have had a rewiring take place in the ol’ noggin, ‘cause the internet is limited to talking. So, that’s the way I now define friendship. Yet, the one thing that is always an underpinning foundational element in my assessment of a friend compared to an acquaintance is loyalty. Also a part of my definition is the Christian and Socratic notion that true friendship cannot be based primarily on a ‘what’s in it for me’ mindset, which I suppose ties back into the idea of loyalty and fidelity. One must consider someone a friend based principally on the basis of whether one likes the other person.

        So, how the heck is that for an analytic interpretation? Sounds like Mr. Spock, huh? Well, beam me up Scotty.

        😉

      • JT says:

        That sums it up nicely Donald. I wonder… at least as far as male friendship is concerned if talking is enough? I can be a friend to someone that I may interact with outside the digital realm much differently than I can inside, I guess what I mean is we can talk, we can agree on some things and disagree on others, but friendship seems to be lacking some ways of connectedness in hyperspace. We lack accountability and we also come up short in truly expressing the “loyalty” that comes with face to face interactions. I am not intimating that it isn’t valuable, I guess it’s just different and if you’ll pardon me saying so, somewhat superficial, no?

      • Donald Miller says:

        I see no lack of accountability, for if there is anything one might call a freewill relationship, it is an online one. We are able to terminate the relationship if either party chooses to end the covenant. This it seems to me lends a greater depth to it, rather than less. “But now we see through a glass, darker.” That is common to all of us in this world. “Blessed are those who have not seen and yet believe,” is a saying that I hold to be true, in a philosophical sense. The reason is that it requires greater faith and spiritual heft for someone to show allegiance to another in hyperspace for the very reason that there cannot be a physical sense of accountability, along with the intimidation that may be implicit in such a situation of close physical proximity.

        Interestingly, I got an email from a professor at Yale University just yesterday. Along with teaching all the various aspects of the course, he made the case for why he does not believe we have a soul and that is virtually impossible for us to live after this life (two things with which I agree), and yet even though more than a year had passed since I wrote him, he apologized for the delay and answered a question that I had asked. He did this without any possibility of receiving a reward. He simply did it because it is his nature to treat people that way. I think people have the spiritual capacity to go against their nature for good or ill. That’s why I think it is possible to like someone we have never met, and that we have at least have some small degree of free will.

        I think that is the heart and soul, as it were, of philosophical and religious beliefs—the ones worth having—at any rate.

      • Donald Miller says:

        After giving it some thought, I think you’re probably right.

      • JT says:

        I like sharing ideas with you and I think your a good guy, I even believe you feel the same way about me. All of this is subjective because you, the person I think I know is only what you have let me see through your words and online activity, you can also say the same about me. But neither one of us can truly say we know the other… that’s the nature of an online relationship. I know of people who portrayed a persona online for many years completely fooling those they were interacting with, hence the lack of accountability. I don’t say this to intimate that is what everyone does or that you or I are doing. I am just giving an example of why my position is stated the way it is. This medium of communication has a place but we must be careful I think to keep it in proper perspective in regards to “real relationships”. I believe that most people on here are genuine and that once again it is the few who abuse peoples trust that ruin the possibilities of deeper connections through this medium.
        Donald, thank you for making me think and helping me define why I believe what I believe.

  3. Sean Durity says:

    You are right to be overwhelmed with the vast quantity of writing pouring forth here. It makes me even more thankful for readers who take the time to read and possibly comment. There are so many other choices they could make.

  4. Donald Miller says:

    “the person I think I know is only what you have let me see through your words and online activity”

    Ahhh. You could say that about nearly anyone. Imagine the surprise of the Christian lady who went to church every Sunday with, and had three children with a man she spent thirty years of her life with, only to find out that he went by the name of BTK in his spare time. (Bind, Torture, Kill)

    In any event, I’m going to make an effort of steering clear of religion and politics, as I don’t think they suit me very well.

    I look forward to future chats about other more life-affirming, less depressing subjects in the future.

  5. Page 28 says:

    Great post. It’s odd that we can be so small amongst this vast sea of souls and yet so freaking ridiculously important. Like you said, those little things we do add up, and sometimes even individually, can create big effects on others. And that’s important because, after all, what is more important to us than the experiences we go through? And we paint those for each other daily. We are each others heroes and villains.

    /end rant though. Good to see those who recognize that.

Leave a Reply

