The Way That Seems Right…


 Proverbs 14; 12  There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.

At first when I read this it can present somewhat of a conundrum, on the one side of it, I think aren’t we supposed to try to do what’s right? The reverse side is a bit deeper and is instigated by the one word “seems”.  I generally do what seems right, but isn’t necessarily right. Let me explain, or at least try to.

What seems right to me is subjective, it is based on what I believe or think I know. For those of us who adhere to the belief that the bible is infallible, we take what it says to be truth. Faith enters in here because opponents of our belief will say our belief is subject to error based on how we interpret the bible, saying that 2 men can read the same words and extrapolate different meanings. This in and of itself, I think kind of proves what this proverb is saying. Human wisdom and reasoning sounds right to us. we apply logic and deductive reasoning to arguments and come up with answers to arguments that sound completely logical. This then sets up the precedent for this proverb.

An example I can give regarding things that go against logic. I was preparing to move to Romania and in the process I sold my pick-up truck that I had just paid off.  The truck was valued at $30,000.00 I sold it for $20,000.00. To those around me who knew of this transaction, was an unbelief that I would be so foolish. Using logic and reasoning it simply made no sense, I was a businessman and no stranger to working within the parameters of money and value, yet to those around me who knew me, was a sense that I had lost my head, not only for the sale of my truck, but other events as well.

My actions were motivated not from logic but from faith, human wisdom would have me making different choices that seemed right but in the end would not have accomplished what faith had called me to do. Of course to the world around us actions like this seem foolish and always will because we are looking at things from 2 very different perspectives.

There is a danger in knowledge and intellect that can drive a wedge between the practical and the spiritual. Knowledge can actually create a deception in our minds which leads us further from, instead of closer to, the truth. Of course if one is already entrenched in the ideology that we can fix and or solve all the worlds problems by increasing our wisdom then the chances are probably pretty good that this type of reasoning sounds illogical, and the one spouting it, a fool?

If I am a fool then let it be so, one day one side or the other will be proved right.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Way That Seems Right…

  1. You are making me think on a Friday:) Have a Wonderful Weekend!

  2. NYParrot says:

    Griboedov’s ‘Woe from Wit’ in agreement with you;).

  3. Thanks for alerting me to this article, JT. I enjoyed reading it and agree 100% because we live on the same mountain. We understand that faith, the supernatural, and God are not confined to man’s logic. They can supersede man’s logic any time they want, and yet be perfectly logical according to supernatural laws that Christians understand. It was a noble attempt we all made. Someday we will know if anything good came of it, or not. I’m going to bow out if he starts it back up. God is just not calling me to write about truck driving right now. My heart is just not in it. Had there been people interested I would have done it, but it’s just not there.

    • JT says:

      Thanks Cowboy, Yes it is nice to have discussions but as you mentioned unless you share some common ground it eventually gets to a point where it seems better to agree to disagree and move on. I know changes in a man’s heart are wrought by the spirit and not by man. Occasionally God let’s us see a situation where he is working and how he may have used us in the process. We just need to be faithful in what He calls us to and remember that that HE and not “we” draw people unto Him.

  4. Donald Miller says:

    “There is a danger in knowledge and intellect that can drive a wedge between the practical and the spiritual.”

    Palm to face moment. MIT and NASA did not get us to the moon with that approach, nor did we win the cold war with the Soviet Union that way.

    “one day one side or the other will be proved right”

    How’s that? One possibility is that we will be as we were before we were born. How can unconscious people know they’ve been proven right?

    “changes in a man’s heart are wrought by the spirit and not by man”

    I don’t see how that leads to the conclusion that we should have the least amount of knowledge and intellect as possible.

    JT, really, I hate to be so blunt about it, but it seems like (Well, okay, it reads like) you’re saying people should be ignorant and stupid. I just can’t agree to that, and I’m sorry that you’re only getting comments from people who are applauding you for making the statement.

    • JT says:

      Thanks for your input Donald, obviously this discussion could go on without any real resolution. That is ok in my book because diversity of thought and belief is a wonderful liberty that we enjoy here. Hope things are going well with you 🙂

  5. Donald Miller says:

    I guess you really are a friend, JT. My previous comment really reads pretty bad. It wasn’t really intended that way, and in fact I placed the two aforementioned words into MS Word and the antonyms I got were the ones that I placed in the comment. Without knowing the full context of how and why you sold the vehicle at a $10,000 loss, all I can say is that I hope anyone who claims to me my friend, if I was in a similar circumstance, wouldn’t advise me to repeat that.

    Anyway, thanks for being a friend, and turning the other cheek. I’ll try to make my ensuing comments upbeat.

    • JT says:

      No worries Donald, I don’t expect everyone to agree with me and frankly people challenging what I say makes me consider why I say what I say and the motivations behind it. I tell my children to question everything. I tell them their beliefs need to have a foundation that they can stand on, if they believe something simply because someone says it them, they really have no belief at all. 😉

Leave a Reply

