Pearls in the Sand!


Monday morning… the start of a new work week and a step forward into the great unknown. Yes it does sound like an exaggeration but a truth nonetheless. I started the day with my expectations already altered before I left the house, one of my staff calling to say they wouldn’t be in because they were very sick and then in the next breath telling me not to worry they’ll be in tomorrow. Makes me wonder how sick is very sick? Perhaps it is the weather forecast that brought on a sudden case of sunshineitis. So as I head in to work my mind is already performing scheduling judo to try to compensate for the lost man hours.

I work in an environment that seems to thrive on flexibility, planning a schedule out the week before, almost ridiculous, as the idea that the schedule will operate as written has about as much chance as putting a kickstand on a tank to hold it up. Still in the constant changes that are part of normal around here there are many opportunities to find things to feel good about. I ended up covering a slot for a couple of hours this afternoon which allowed me to spend some time with the folks that we serve day in and day out. Change is as common a thing to them as it is to me yet they roll with it much more gracefully than I do. Their unflappable spirits continuously lifted me out of my grumbling mindset. It wasn’t unusual during our time together to hear them say how much they liked spending time with me, how much they missed it when I wasn’t there with them, and various other accolades.

This work can be extremely difficult at times and there are days when I get home and wonder if it’s having any impact at all, and then a day like today happens and it reinforces the knowledge that what we are doing does matter, has value, and is worth continuing, not because I received a plethora of “good job” from the folks that I serve, but because I am reminded that people have intrinsic value and therefore it is always worth more than I will ever get paid.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pearls in the Sand!

  1. Donald Miller says:

    Ah, yes, the ol’ “very sick; see you tomorrow” syndrome.

    Nice story, but your line of work seems to be even more mysterious than mine.

    😉

    CIA?

    • JT says:

      It’s nothing so dramatic, I am purposefully vague because there is a lot of stigmas attached to the people I work with and I would rather not add to it… not that me writing about it would, I suppose. Perhaps I am a bit over protective 🙂

  2. It sounds like your work has “meaning” to it. Now every job has some meaning, like I deliver auto parts and people need those parts, but some jobs seem to be more meaningful. That is something to be thankful for. I’m guessing you’ve paid a price to have something meaningful.

    • JT says:

      Your right Cowboy, there is meaning in every job and activity and often times we never fully grasp that. I think it’s natural to get caught up in life and not really contemplate or understand that we are here, not for ourselves but for others. I don’t think it matters nearly as much what vocation we are involved in but the relationships that we foster everyday. In my humble opinion 🙂

Leave a Reply

