Know Time


Busy, that seems to be where most of us live these days and even though it is our own fault we, I think, don’t really want to take responsibility for it. I know in my own life many things are going on daily with work, raising a family, and trying to accomplish several agendas at once. This can become a scheduling nightmare.

Recently I have started doing more intentional planning. Let me elaborate, I think most of us plan on a regular basis, however, and I don’t have statistics to back this up, many of us plan by necessity of events and situations. In other words, we go through our days based on the events of the moment. Perhaps at work we have to maintainΒ  a calendar and perform some planning in that task based environment but by and large most of our planning isn’t purposeful.

Another area of weakness for me is saying no. Invitations, events, whims and desires often fill up our time and when things come up that we want or sense we should do, we simply load it onto the schedule. By the end of the day we collapse from the days hectic pace.

I am learning to say no to things I may want to do in an effort to create balance, this process is ongoing and will, I realize, never attain the nirvana of perfect balance, but it will nonetheless be beneficial for me as I get better at managing my time.

Lessons I have learned so far: Write it down, spending an hour at the beginning of the week and even a couple of hours at the beginning of the month planning out my time has been very effective at helping me not to over-book my time. Previously I would try to keep it all in my head which constantly left me grappling with whether or not I had done all I needed to or wondering if I missed appointments or not.

Don’t fill every minute of every day, I have a tendency to think I can get more done than I really can in a given time slot. This inevitably promotes a sense that I am always behind and having to rush to get to the next task. More importantly we need down time for reflection, rest and preparation.

What are some of the difficulties you have in time management and what are some of the tips or methods you have adopted to manage your time more effectively?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Know Time

  1. I’ve learned to “just say no” which is really hard for us women! I see it happening with Sweet Pea as well and she’s only 16. She says she doesn’t want to “hurt anyone’s feelings.” I said “H
    oney, you gotta learn now to take care of you ’cause you’re the only one who will.” I don’t overbook, I take time for myself, and I have a loosely based weekly plan that–and here’s the key–allows enough room for the inevitable adjustments that come.

    • JT says:

      Hi Mama, I can’t speak for all men but I find it hard to say no as well. I wholeheartedly agree that leaving some breathing room in the schedule sure helps to keep things on a sane level πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  2. I am a CALENDAR FREAK & Proud of it – ha! I have electronic calendars for scheduling blog posts as well as tracking my exercise days. I love the calendar feature on my phone to keep me organized for the month. I am ADDICTED to Bill Pay and enjoy being able to access my online account daily. The MOST IMPORTANT thing I manage and schedule is at least 2 up to 6 trips a year to take a break and escape – oh so important in our lives! Great Post JT – Have a Wonderful Weekend:)

    • JT says:

      Lol a calendar freak huh. Do they have a twelve step program for that? πŸ˜€ Scheduling vacations now your talking, I am way over due for an honest-to-goodness getaway. Hope your weekend goes well.

  3. Donald Miller says:

    With the amount of time I spend on the net and with my sites, I sometimes feel like one of those guys who pumps quarters into a slot machine all day. That’s my biggest scheduling weakness- getting focused on one thing to the detriment of others. I’m never bored or depressed, though. I’ll bet the guy at the slot machine can’t say that. πŸ˜‰

    • JT says:

      Hmmm that is an interesting thought, I have never played slot machines and if I did, it seems, I would get bored with it pretty quick, unless of course I hit the jackpot πŸ™‚

  4. Time is such a challenge because there are so many things worthy of our time. I’m talking very good causes and needs. It is hard to choose. What saves me is starting every day in quality prayer, not just a rush job. I find when I do that, I can make the choices easier and trust God with the rest. I can even intentionally take “reflection time”. It calms my soul and increases the effectiveness of what I get done. We live in a world of so many “worthy” needs and causes. Time “forces” us to choose.
    “Time” is a good subject for conversation, JT. We all deal with it and have thoughts about it. We have all had to make some tough choices and learn how to handle our precious 24 hours. Great subject. I hope a lot of people respond to this. Everyone should have something to share. We all need a little down time, too. Just plain junk time. Watch a movie time. “Balance”. There is the trick. Finding the right balance. I also am one for making quick notes. It is always a “collage” of notes. Then I scan through them each day and ask, which ones today? Which ones now?

  5. There are times when the ability to compartmentalize seems to help. I’ve heard that Wallace Stevens was a physician who worked on poems in between patients. Most of us can manage 10 min. personal time per hour, at least a few hours a day, but how many of us can keep it free of worry and out of control thoughts to use it for R&R or creativity?

    The only thing I miss about smoking is it was a ritual break of 5-10 min per hour that was inviolate. Everything else could wait. Sans nicotine, I’ve tried to keep the break habit, fueled by my own breathing of unpolluted air, but I’m not so dedicated in giving myself those time outs.

    I always liked this quote from Edward Weston: “Peace and an hour’s time. Given these, a man will create. Emotional heights are easily attained. Peace and time are not.”

    • JT says:

      Morgan I think you really hit on it here: “Most of us can manage 10 min. personal time per hour, at least a few hours a day, but how many of us can keep it free of worry and out of control thoughts to use it for R&R or creativity?” I admit my struggle is intentionally planning down time, and then actually using it as intended. Time seems to be the easiest of our resources to waste… maybe because it is given to us without defined parameters on how to use it?

  6. Great post JT! I wanted to read this when you initially posted it, but naturally… I didn’t have THE TIME! Seriously. I’m not joking. πŸ˜‰ But you DO raise some very interesting points in this and I’m glad that you do. Time and a perception of busyness are things that I have always struggled with but have found that usually the more structured my days are (like when I have a job) allows me to be a better time manager.

    This is also a very timely post (sorry for the bad pun) because I just saw this morning that the magazine is no more. I commented (after one of your comments) on Donald’s Journal site. I am bummed that it didn’t pan out. I know how much Donald put into it. I fear that some of my own poor “time management” was probably partially to blame for the disappointment.

    • JT says:

      I wouldn’t put to much on yourself it is really just the nature of our lives these days. You know from experience how long it takes to develop a readership and that is just a fact of blogging and I don’t think an online magazine really is much different. It takes time and persistence. Hope things are going well with you and that something opens up soon in the job market for you πŸ™‚

    • Hey Thrisis, I’m with you guys. My whole life turned upside down this last week and I went off grid a couple days. I just had something worked out for the magazine, too. Guess I was too slow, but believe me, there was no way I could have done it quicker. Priorities, you know. Hope Donald knows I was trying, but I just needed a few days. I assume our beloved fugitive will resurface somewhere? He is probably watching us all and having a good laugh!

  7. NYParrot says:

    Time is money, and time is a treasure when it comes to time spent with our loved ones. I am still learning to prioritize, and I think I am getting better at it. Happy Father’s Day, JT!

Leave a Reply

