Does the Face of Your Friend Look Like A Cell Phone?


Hello, and welcome to my cell phone rant. I am not sure exactly when it happened, but it did happen. Phone etiquette once existed and now,  has apparently been thrown out the proverbial window, perhaps it went along with the cord that used to connect the phone to the wall?

Several people who I converse with on a regular basis have the uncanny ability to continue their various texting and Facebook checking, web surfing and only the Cell God’s know what else they are doing, while simultaneously creating a farce called having a conversation with me. I try not to let it bother me… but it really does.

Look, I use my cell phone as well, but if I am in a conversation with someone I will either ignore the phone or at least excuse myself if it is something that can’t wait, ( which is less than 1 percent of the time) make the call as short as possible and apologize for the intrusion. Nowadays it seems  as if common decency has gone right out with “Ma Bell” and conversations in the digital realm supersede flesh and blood! I will admit at times I have even found myself entertaining fantasy’s about ripping the offending cellular device right out off their hands and launching onto the nearest tractor-trailer laden highway I can find…. Of course I guess that would breach the rules of etiquette as well, so instead, perhaps while I’m standing there stewing, I can pull out my cell phone and see what the latest status updates on Facebook are.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, humor, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does the Face of Your Friend Look Like A Cell Phone?

  1. I needed a chuckle this afternoon – ha! I have to agree that cell phone etiquette is lacking, especially in restaurants or large groups of people (having to shout at the phone is not fun for any of us). Have a Great Day:)

  2. Donald Miller says:

    I remember reading the book, “Life with Father” and being impressed that Dad wouldn’t allow a telephone in his home. In fact it’s had such a huge impression on me that I actually keep my phone unplugged and don’t plug it in until I need to make a call out.

    I agree. There is rudeness in addiction. It’s a self-indulgent view of the world. The thoughtlessness that people show now is alarming. Sometimes, I wish I had a cell phone so that when in the circumstance that you describe, I could call the person I’m with and have a conversation with them.

    If you ever try that out, let me know how it goes.

    • JT says:

      Yes the thought has crossed my mind, I haven’t actually tried it yet, if I do I will be sure to report on the experience. 🙂

  3. HI there! I see from the comments above that you and Donald Miller already know one another! That’s great. He has started a newsletter/blog called wordexpressweekly.wordpress.com and he is looking for contributors. I remembered how you were interested in starting a group blog project a few months back and thought you might be interested in this. Please check it out and message or comment to Donald if you’re interested! 🙂 Hope all is well!

  4. Pingback: Cell Phone and Computer Etiquette | Jeannine K. Vegh, M.A., I.M.F.T.

Leave a Reply

