Waiting, The Good the Bad and the _ _ _ _


The world in which we live is in perpetual motion. I am nearly 50 now and looking back I can see amazing differences in many areas of life. From food preparation (the microwave) to Banking (the ATM and wire EFT) to the internet, I bet we all miss the days of dial-up?

What is the motivation to go faster? Is it so we can get more done? Why… if we get more done is there still so much to do tomorrow? Is getting more done mean we are somehow more efficient, hence with our increased productivity we would be more valuable?

In our constant state of Hyper-Drive how has it changed us? Do we really have a better quality of life? In our ever-increasing need to go faster, what are we losing?

Is there anything good and purposeful that can come from simply waiting?

I know I am asking a lot of questions today, I do have my own ideas about these things but I really want to hear what you think! Then we can talk. Go on now, it’s Friday, take the whole weekend to respond if you want,Β  I will be right here… waiting…..

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, introspection, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Waiting, The Good the Bad and the _ _ _ _

  1. I remember some talk in the 90’s of going to 4-day work weeks given that technology had increased productivity. Instead, at least from my own experience in the work force, companies simply used the increased productivity to take on more and more work increasing their own profits. As far as personal advantages, technology allows me to complete tasks with less time, but it seems to just free up more space in the day to pack with other activities. But then again, maybe that’s just because we have very active teenagers. Outside of my sanity, the thing I feel we’ve most lost are those Andy Griffith porch moments.

    • JT says:

      Yes Mama, as you have alluded to, the enemy of no time is really us. We have subtly been wooed by a society that says if you aren’t busy, then you are lazy. Along with that is the cliche, ” it isn’t how much time you spend with others, but the quality of that time that matters”. Of which I say poppycock! Two hours with my 4 year old will mean far more to her than 20 minutes of “quality time”. Perhaps the saddest part in all this is, it seems, we are driven along by the bottom line just as the economic engine…

  2. Very nice thoughts JT. I am an inpatient person by nature but have often wondered something similar. We are too dependent on the quick stuff and the instantaeous. This does us or future generations no good when it comes to the stuff that will always require waiting… waiting for the right partner, waiting for the right job or career opportunity, waiting on healing from disease… or waiting on government agengies to finalize their paperwork so that you can do what is right for a loved one and get back to life as you once knew it. (Yes, that lsat one is my struggle of late… which is also to say that is why I haven’t been around much. I miss all of you).

    Great post! Hope you don’t mind “waiting” for me to write again! πŸ™‚

    • JT says:

      Hi There stranger, yes we miss seeing you around here but understand that life has a way of rearranging things for us sometimes. Glad to hear from you and I hope things ease up on you soon! I will wait and try to be thankful even in the waiting πŸ™‚

      • πŸ˜€ Thanks JT. I am anxious to getting back to life as I knew it! Even if it was job hunting, moving and looking for a new groove to get into! Thanks for waiting me out!

  3. Some days I do not get all the hype, stress and running around with our heads almost popping off – YIKES! I prefer to be a proactive person versus a reactive person. I cannot stand when utter chaos is going on around me and just do not thrive in this type of environment. I love living each day to its fullest, but there are plenty of better ways to do it than with technology buzzing here and there. I love finding green spaces and escaping to the great outdoors:) Great Post and one I could actually answer right away – ha!

    • JT says:

      Thanks Renee, I am not so much anti-technology as I am pro-balance, or at least I want balance, I think balance is never fully achieved but is a constant journey.

Leave a Reply

