Behind the Curtain


The gentle hum of the refrigerator in the background along with my clacking on the keys is the only sound I hear at the moment, the goodnight hugs and kisses still slightly felt in my arms and on my lips, its peaceful and I am content.

I am on vacation this week, but hardly willing to call it that, as I have a honey-do-list that will likely take me to the second coming of Christ to complete, and yet the burden that lists so often bestow on me seems to have passed me by, at least for the moment.

It is a wonderful feeling actually… no agenda causing birth pangs of angst, frittering away the solitude, while the days, used up, rushing to and fro to accomplish what usually amounts to somebody Else’s ideas of what’s important in this life.

My soul mate is upstairs in bed reading and waiting and I have to say it’s a feeling I love, the knowing that someone is waiting for you, one I altogether too often take for granted.

As I sit here thinking about her, a hundred memories flood my mind of all we have shared, good and bad and what a rock she has been in my life. I can’t help but wonder sometimes why I get to be so blessed.

I can’t help having my thoughts turn to so many out there who perhaps don’t have that sense of someone waiting for them, at least not in the sense that they are looking forward to the meeting. Empty hearts and broken promises seem to go hand in hand theses days, but hey, we shrug it off, that’s life right, no sense crying over spilled milk, I need to pick up, chin up, get on with my life, it wasn’t really that big a deal.

Yet the noise is a welcome friend, radio on in the car, TV on at house, the smile plastered on the face a shield placed in front of the facade. Quiet isn’t good or necessary because everything is fine, after all we have been brought up to be self-sufficient, haven’t we? We don’t need anybody, oh it’s nice to have a few friends around once in a while but we can make it on our own.

Everyone has someone waiting for them…

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, God, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

