Are you under Authority?


 My son and I had a discussion recently about this subject. The premise being that no matter what station in life you find yourself there is always someone to answer to, regardless of whether you are a child or an adult, rich or poor, working for someone else or self-employed, married or single there is always someone in authority over you.

Authority is in our lives comes from a number of sources: Parents, guardians, elders, law enforcement, judicial, employers and various other examples to numerous to list.

  Being under authority can be a problem for some, I think especially as a young person learning to accept and respect authority often times is a point of contention, however young people are not the only ones, in fact I see more examples of adults having difficulty with authority than children in today’s culture.

  On another note, the way that authority is established and enforced often times can effect how we act or react to it. If we are driving our car down the road obeying the rules and posted speed limits and we are pulled over  by a policeman before the policeman even reaches our window a multitude of thoughts may cross our mind, from thinking what in the world am I being pulled over for, to this guy must be short on meeting his quota or even feeling nervous about some infraction that you may have committed while in a daydream and simultaneously driving. However, once the officer reaches the window how you feel about being under authority will come to the surface when you respond to the officer.

  There is no question about whether we are under authority or not. The question really is how do you feel about being under authority?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are you under Authority?

  1. I can say I have not had an easy time with authority at work lately. I think it is a combination of not communicating and reaching a point that I need to move on. I am doing a 2 to 5 after leaving a 10 year career in Human Resources and after 2 to 3 years cannot wait for 5 years anymore. Great post today – hit that one out of the park! Have a Great Weekend:)

  2. Donald Miller says:

    Hey JT,

    I just posted an essay that coincidentally goes along with your post. I’m interested in getting a few comments on it. If you have time, I’d like to get yours. It’s called, “Imagine There’s a Heaven.”

    • Donald Miller says:

      Starting to look like I’m spamming your page. 😉

      I was wondering if your still interested in taking that course I have set up. If you are, look over the old and new testament sites and see what you think. You can go through it and take whatever you’d like. The entire course is lengthy, but then again we have the rest of our lives to finish it. It’s not semester-based or anything. 🙂

Leave a Reply

