The Hypocrisy of an American Christian…


   In no way will I be able to completely and concisely describe in a full account the extent of the hypocrisies here but rather just a summary of a few.

  Case 1. The claim that my faith rests in Christ and Christ alone, as magnanimous as it sounds coming from the lips, the reality is I continuously worry and strive to provide for my family and my own needs. this is an internal never-ending war between what my belief states versus the faith I apparently lack.

  Case 2. I love in His Love.  I believe that is how I should love, however, often times I see how my motivations and actions typically are self-seeking looking for some kind of affirmation or return.

  Case 3. This really goes hand in hand with case 2 however it still deserves a separate critiquing, I place others needs ahead of my own, ashamedly that is blatantly false. I look around the world at the immense needs and the multitudes who live with a minute portion of what I have and recognize how little I know about sacrificial giving.

  There is a bumper sticker out there that use to be popular but I see it far less nowadays than I did in the 80s, “Christians aren’t perfect just forgiven” ! I could write a whole post or 2 on just that. How ignorant and self-centered can we get, as if we have cornered the market on forgiveness. I mention it because yes I know forgiveness is available to me and the purpose of this post is not a diatribe on my shortcomings, it’s a reality check that the world we live in falls far short of a righteousness established by biblical precedents.

  There is a call upon me to seek the truth so that I can be free from  impossible ideas of establishing my own righteousness. The Ten Commandments were not given to say if you follow these you are holy, they were given to prove that apart from Christ it would be impossible for us to be acceptable to a Holy and Righteous God.

  I cling to the cross and tremble! The christian culture prevalent today spends so much time on Love and Grace and Mercy that we receive an incomplete gospel. The thought of one day standing before the Creator and stuttering through some explanation about how I lived my life terrifies me, standing before him without Jesus terrifies me much more!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection, life, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Hypocrisy of an American Christian…

  1. Nothing to say but “Amen.”

  2. Donald Miller says:

    I can see that you are a very bad man indeed, JT.

    😉

    I’m happy that I am such a better person than you.

    Of course I’m being a wise guy. Lighten up on yourself. I thought your Mission Statement for your blog is: “I hope to share my story and explore others’ stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.”

    • JT says:

      Hi Donald, Yes, you have the summary of my “about me” statement right. I feel that part of that process is being forthright and vulnerable establishing that I am not one to lord it over others or act in a self righteous manner, but rather to share our strenghts as well as our shortcomings. By this hopefully we can take a lot of things that tend to remain in the dark and expose them to the light of truth. In this process I believe this encourages others to speak out about things often unsaid for fear of ridicule or a less than idealistic perception of their person from others, hence, hopefully we indeed learn and are better able to encourage each other.

      Btw I am in the process of aquiring the Hebrew study bible for our study 🙂

      • Donald Miller says:

        I’m looking forward to the Hebrew Bible study. Glad you’re getting the book. It’s always a bit better when you have someone to exchange ideas with.

  3. Sean Durity says:

    Fear of an awesome God who will judge all is an important truth to remember. But the grace and mercy is just as true. It is a tension to live in both.

Leave a Reply

