The Spirit in Which it’s Given


  How many times do we say or do something for someone else on a daily basis? Frankly, I haven’t stopped to really consider it, nor do I want to. I have been thinking though about the mindset and motivations that move me through the day.

  At work I have a responsibility to perform a number of tasks for which I am compensated, and expectations of value are deliberately placed on the tasks so at the end of the week or pay period a sum is placed in my hands showing that value in mutual agreement between employee and employer.

   As a follower of Christ there is a higher expectation placed on me, not out of compulsion or duty or law, but out of a genuine desire to please Christ, in love.  This desire to please Christ cannot be outwardly quantified, it is a matter of the heart. I can easily fool my boss and co-workers, friends, family and others who may be looking on, I can even deceive myself. God however is not fooled, He sees the heart and motivations. 

  The Spirit in which I operate… at its baseline is self-centered. Why am I at work? I need to earn an income to meet my family’s physical needs, clothes, food, housing etc. Given this, how then would I also operate in the spirit of working as unto the Lord?  This is accomplished as part of a continuous reconciling of each one who follows Christ. It is a process, one that is ongoing and one that isn’t always at the top of our awareness. The fact that I am even thinking about such things does bring me encouragement that indeed that reconciling is happening. 

   How else might we recognize God’s work in our lives?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Spirit in Which it’s Given

  1. Donald Miller says:

    I was thinking of something to say, and I noticed the Goodreads widget. I have a page there also.

Leave a Reply

