Dying to Desire, Part 2


Hello again, and welcome back to the meanderings of my mind. I had presented some precepts in my last post, and also asked you to think about some things and give me some feedback. Thank you for the feedback and even the challenging of some of my ideas, I welcome the discussion and believe in the process we all get to “grow”.

Desire is a funny word because it doesn’t really stand well alone. When I speak of desire it is in relation to something else, usually but not always in the context of fulfilling some real or perceived need or want. It would be just as easy to say I want this or I need this. regardless most desire is based on our sense of self, be it protective or nurture or nature.

Dying to self is really a process of re-generation as our nature that we were born with is inclined to put our self above others. Therefore our desires born out of this nature are typically rooted in self-centered and self-preservation ideologies and unless or until we recognize, that apart from some external change agent we are stuck on the hamster wheel.

At the center of every person, myself included there is a spiritual chamber , part of which forms a basis for love, not love typically and traditionally promoted in our society. This love is without condition, never takes into account a wrong suffered and always perseveres. It affirms and cannot be changed regardless of our thoughts, actions and intentions.

So what does all this have to do with desire… when we become conscious that we are loved like that, in time it begins to change our desires and that is where the true adventure begins!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, God, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dying to Desire, Part 2

  1. JT loving Part II! I have never felt the love like I do for my other half (do not have children) and would pretty much do anything for him and him for me. We committed to each other and it has been an adventure ever since – will soon be celebrating 8 years of marriage and have known each other for 13 years. Thanks for sharing & Have a Great Day:)

  2. I’ve been mulling this over since your first post on desire. In this one you echo the conclusion I came to, that it all lies in our “wants and needs.” What are our needs? For physical survival, we need air, water, food, shelter. and in most climates, clothing. To thrive, to go beyond “just surviving,” almost everyone also needs social connection, a sense of safety, and meaning/purpose in their lives.

    Some who really and truly see through the “illusion of self,” are known to us as spiritual masters – Jesus comes to mind at this time of year. They demonstrate that “survival,” life and death, is not what we think it is, and isn’t exactly the “matter of life and death” we think it is. But for the rest of us, instinct and the teachings of all religions agree – a human incarnation is precious beyond price and should be preserved to the best of our ability. So there’s nothing wrong with the desire to eat when you’re hungry and drink when you’re thirsty.

    That’s why I think the downside of desire happens in the gap between “wants and needs.” Hunger is one thing to the thousands who die of hunger each year. It was something else to J.P. Morgan. I’ve heard he would dine each night at Delmonico’s in New York, seat himself so his stomach was 4″ away from the table, and eat until it touched.

    For simplicity’s sake, I guess I tend to agree with the Dalai Lama – the purpose of life is to find happiness and spread it around as much as possible.

    Which still isn’t simple either, since all hell breaks out in “the pursuit of happiness.” I’ll let you know when I find my Operating Manual for Living. I’ve misplaced it. I think it’s in the garage somewhere, which means I’ll have to do some digging.

Leave a Reply

