Dying to Desire, Part 1


  What is desire? Desire is the basis of motivation, whether it is to fulfill a responsibility or to achieve a goal. But, let’s go deeper than this, what gives birth to desire… the idea of a perceived need.

At this point you may be thinking ya, so what, why is this important? Well on the surface we operate daily based on fulfilling our perceived needs or wants which are based in the desire to be safe, happy, productive, content, satiated, healthy, loved and yes even desired, (to quote an old song, “I want you to want me”). Notice though, that desire most often is birthed with,”I” being the central theme, in other words desire usually has little to do with what others needs or wants may be.

I say all this as a tie in to last weeks post Purpose , where I made the assertion that our purpose has more to do with others than ourselves. Given that belief, is why I now say dying to desire is important. If we operate on a level where we base our own needs above others, by default it seems our ability to live out our purpose would be negatively affected.

I would also like to explore this in relation to needs priority. In other words we have various needs that we subconsciously prioritize, and therefore, following this logic there would be the most important need at the top of our list, and then the next most important and so on. Based on this thinking I have asked myself, and now, I am asking you, what is your most important need? Don’t give in to the urge to run a mental checklist and casually throw out an answer, think about it, seriously, take some time to really dig deep and identify what the single most important thing is at the very core of your life that you need and want fulfilled!

Let me know what you come up with and I will share mine in part 2.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in freedom, introspection, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dying to Desire, Part 1

  1. Jennwith2ns says:

    My need? To throw a monkey-wrench into EVERYTHING. Heh.

    I think I get what you’re saying, but I wonder if “dying to desire” is a little simplistic. (I’m not meaning to be insulting–just descriptive.) I think there are a lot of things that Buddhism and Christianity can agree on, but I think dying to desire is a distinctly Buddhist (and maybe ancient Stoic) idea that has gotten absorbed into some versions of Christianity but is actually counter-Christian. (I suspect you are not intending to speak only to Christians here, but I think it’s impossible to find a “neutral” point, and the fact is, you are a Christian. 🙂 )

    It seems to me that this is why Jesus says we need to die to SELF and not to desire. If our desires control us, that’s bad, and that’s where selfishness and addictions and dysfunctions come from. But Jesus Himself had very strong desires–He got hungry and thirsty and tired (all very basice desires) and commended those who “hungered and thirsted after” (i.e. desired) most notably a relationship with us. He didn’t try to stifle that desire–He followed it to its very conclusion, which was death (and ultimately resurrection).

    I dunno. That’s just my take.

    • JT says:

      Simplistic…yes very, and You are right I have tried to write purposely to a wider audience seeking dialogue in order to discuss, (hopefully) on a deeper level things that often get hung up when we use particular jargon. Dying to self or to desire essentially leads to the same conclusion. We all have desire and indeed we all have “self”… what is self but really the collection of thoughts, ideas and desires, often they are shaped or remade based on the “free will” we have been endowed with. I wonder how many of us actually spend any significant time identifying where the desire comes from. For those who have yet to explore Christ and understand the energy spent on fulfilling desire is a vicious cycle that always leaves one unfulfilled, I believe is because we miss the fact that the base desire to truly be fulfilled is usually buried beneath other things in an effort to hide or deceive that what truly matters. But I digress, not all desire is bad and that was not my intended point, which hopefully will be more evident in part 2 🙂

      Thanks as always for making me think 😉

  2. It is Monday you know and you are making me have to think – ha! I will have to ponder this and dig deep – stay tuned! Happy Monday:)

  3. My biggest desire is to have a clean house, but since that has a probability only slighter higher than winning the Mega Millions Lottery, I’ve given up on that one. My other desire is to be loved. To have that empty spot deep within my soul constantly filled. Or maybe it’s affirmation that I’m worthy? Is that the same thing as love? The problem is, I know there is only One that can truly fill that desire 24/7. My desire to be loved fuels my daily actions whether it be the blogs I write, the meals I cook, and the jobs I performed in the workplace.

    • JT says:

      I think you hit the nail on the head,”My other desire is to be loved. To have that empty spot deep within my soul constantly filled.” I truly believe that is at the root of every heart. Thanks for the feedback Mama 🙂

Leave a Reply

