Purpose…


  What is your Purpose? If we look around creation it isn’t hard to see and define purpose, from trees and vegetation to animals and insects, everywhere we look there are examples of purpose.

  Intelligent design,  or all by accident in light of this fact seems a ridiculous argument. The only living thing on this planet that seems confused about purpose is us. Most of us on occasion I imagine have made that all-encompassing query, “What is my purpose?”. Whether or not we walk with a sense of purpose I can assure you has little to do with the facts.

  Given that all creation doesn’t question their purpose except man, has a lot more to do with the free will endowed unto us by our creator and therefore the ability to make choices, than it does with our own confusion about what we are to do with our lives.

 In our efforts to control our own lives we can choose to ignore the incredible evidence for intelligent design and the fact that of all living things we seem to be the only ones struggling with purpose.

 I am sure there are many out there, that will question the validity of this argument, ready to defend your position with a rapid list of things that define who you are, where your going, and what you were meant to do. In fact we all have various gifts, talents, abilities some natural some developed that enable us to participate in life with varying degrees of success, but are we doing these things because we want to or because we were meant to?

 I believe my purpose has less to do with me and more to do with others… looking at the world around me reinforces that belief.

What is your purpose?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Purpose…

  1. Beautifully observed and stated. I loved this. And I especially like the sentence: “Whether or not we walk with a sense of purpose I can assure you has little to do with the facts.” It is so good to be reminded of this. No set of circumstances defines us although the world will tell us otherwise. To find our purpose we must look upward, inward and all around at the others placed in our lives. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE this post!

  2. Loving your post – I have been wondering since I was about 4 what our purpose is! At least I know it is NOT ALL ABOUT ME – I have that figured out. I just be and do the best I can on a daily basis. Have a Great Day:)

  3. Pingback: Dying to Desire, Part 1 | food4thoughtfood4life

Leave a Reply

