Affirming Afirmations


 Look in the mirror and repeat after me: “You are a nice person, You will have a good day today, You are a brilliant and capable person and dog gone it people like you!”

  Yea it doesn’t work for me either.  I think in every person there is a desire to be recognized and affirmed, that they are seen by others in a positive way. This can be seen through two different prisms. On one hand, when we recognize someone’s efforts to excel at something or go beyond our expectations and we feel compelled to make the effort to let them know we see and appreciate their efforts, this in turn can edify them and encourage similar behavior in the future.

 On the other side of the prism we can end up with an unhealthy desire to be affirmed to the point where our motivations are based entirely on what someone might say, creating a vicious cycle because ultimately our expectations become skewed and people will see through this and actually not give those affirmations. In turn you have a host of negative emotions that fester because you feel you should be recognized and when you are not, anger and disappointment set in.

 That is not what this post is about! Recently I was nominated for the ‘Versatile Blogger Award” I left someone out of the nominations that I extended because I wanted to pay special attention to this person. I have never met her in person and although I do read her blog it is only on occasion that I comment on it. She on the other hand, follows my blog, and likes, and comments continuously! Not only does she comment but her comments are always either insightful, relational, and/or positive.

 Renee can be read @ cravesadventure.wordpress.com and I have to say she has been told by me and others how much her comments and likes are appreciated, but I wanted to take this opportunity to extend the first ever (to my knowledge)

“Most Affirming Blogger Award” !

Congratulations Renee Your The Best!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in humor, Just Because, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Affirming Afirmations

  1. Ahhh You Are Such a SWEETIE!!! I appreciate the nomination – thanks for the bottom of my heart:) Have a Great Day – Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

