The Older You Get The Less You Know… Again?


I don’t know how old you are, and really for the purpose of this post it probably doesn’t matter. Regardless of your age the following question will most likely still be something you can relate to.

A copy of Auguste Rodin's The Thinker at the K...

Image via Wikipedia

Remember when you knew everything?

I can’t think of exactly when I knew everything but I am pretty sure that when I did know everything I wasn’t aware that I knew everything, but people would tell me I think I know everything if you know what I mean?

It usually came to light while a parent or someone in authority would tell me something I should do to be smarter, healthier, more polite, etc. This would typically elicit the proverbial rolling of the eyes, or the non-committal “Yup” (which meant I hear you but I really don’t care what you’re saying because I already know everything) in response to what ever wisdom or life experience was being imparted to me.

Of course all this knowledge came from such credible sources such as television, “my friend told me”, or “I did it that way before and nothing bad happened to me”.

Let me share an experience that will perhaps illustrate my point. When I was a younger boy there was a commercial on television for “Tonka Toys”. The commercial depicted a

Tonka truck

Tonka truck (Photo credit: unloveablesteve)

 Tonka truck with an elephant stepping on it to enlighten the viewer that Tonka toys were indestructible. My brother and I both had Tonka trucks and decided to validate truth in advertising by taking our Tonka’s to the third floor balcony of the apartment building we were living in and send them on an aerial suicide mission to the street below. After several successful missions we analyzed the data collected to determine if the hypothesis presented in the commercial was accurate.

 Although the trucks were scratched, dented and mildly mutilated, we decided that they were still usable, maintained most of their parts and their telltale yellow color, even if perhaps they did resemble something a tractor-trailer used as a parking brake!

I guess the older I get the less I know.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in humor, Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

