Courageous Cowardice


I have seen the movie “Courageous” one and a half times now and have come to the conclusion that as much as the idea of being courageous appeals to my senses the reason it appeals to me at all only sheds a discerning light on the depths of my cowardice.

Courage, at its root, really is a depth of love that casts off the desire for selfish gain, either that or the depths of depravity available to the human soul go so deep as to achieve a sadistic, self-injurious, self-love deficient of common sense that sees oneself being called a hero worth any effort to achieve.

In either case, when I meditate on the precepts in this movie, and apply an introspective judgement of my character, I hang my head realizing that my desire to continue to deceive myself that I can be an honorable man is a fruitless and fundamentally impossible thing.

I can truly do nothing apart from Christ.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, Just Because and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Courageous Cowardice

  1. Amen! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Beautiful post:) Thanks for sharing!

    • JT says:

      You are too kind… it’s funny I re-read some posts later and it seems like gibberish, yet while I was writing it fit perfectly… Weird πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

