Thoughts about Sex


After thinking for a while I decided to post my thoughts on sex.

I won’t be embarking on an expose to all the thoughts we have that are never said or even sending a condemning message about sex. I don’t know, perhaps in some ways too little is said about this subject from the perspective of, (I just wonder), what people think, and why they think what they think, or even why don’t people think. Let’s face it, at least from a man’s perspective the trouble starts because once we think about sex we stop thinking of anything else.

Sex…just hearing the word reminds me of the culture we live in. Everything around us in some misguided way or another finds a way to spin sex into the picture! Quite frankly it is my opinion that we, and I say we collectively, have a warped( to say the least) perspective on sex. Don’t get me wrong I like sex, and feel that in the context of my marriage it is wonderful. However my senses are bombarded daily with unholy ideas, thoughts, images and suggestions. We are, (in my opinion once again) a hyper sexual society! With so much emphasis on sex it’s no wonder more of us walk around anesthetized to the fact that it’s even a problem. It has become the norm. Throw in there the idea of a healthy, holy, monogamous,God-fearing relationship, and the hope of finding such a thing seems daunting.
Then there is “the Christian Alternative” meaning we date each other and have all kinds of sexually related activity without performing the actual technical act (trying to be accurate, without being too graphic). This I don’t believe is what God intended either.
All that to say I still believe that the “Godly relationship” is still worth pursuing and can still be found. Nothing, I know is perfect, and compromise once made can’t be un-made.
The idea of going through this life alone, looking through my prism, evokes a deep sense of sorrow if that aloneness means I am not fulfilled. In reference to this topic, that’s I guess not really a fair assertion because I am already married. However if for some reason I ended up alone again, a bigger question for me would be…. is God enough for me?

Sex should not define us it is only a part of the relationship that God designed to bring us to a place of fulfillment. Yes it is for  pro-creating, but I don’t see evidence that is its singular purpose either.

What do you  think a properly balanced life looks like in respect to sex?

JT

 

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life, lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts about Sex

  1. serenityluv1 says:

    I don’t want to contradict myself here when I say the world is sex crazy yet reluctant to discuss sex in a natural sense. Like for instance all the music suggest sexual behaviors, kissing, touching and so on but to engage into an intellectual conversation about sex we tend to shy away from it. Sex is great when done in the way it was intended not with everyone…**I probably lost you** Just my rants on it…loved the post!

    • JT says:

      Yes Hypersexual is where we seem to be…I wasn’t looking for intimate details… more an intellectual conversation as you alluded to. Thanks for reading and for your comment.

  2. Boy oh boy I think I am slightly blushing:) Way to just put it out there today. First of all for me I believe in being in a healthy and supportive relationship. Second sex is an important piece to that relationship. Nothing to be ashamed of, but not something you have to discuss in complete detail (leave it behind closed doors and between the two people). Have a Great Weekend:)

Leave a Reply

