Valentines Day… Have a Heart


I personally believe valentines day is nothing more than a consumer driven society’s infatuation to market an idea in order to produce profits.

I know that comes across as a crabby cynical point of view. I suppose it is, however I can justify it by saying that the people I care about know how I feel all year-long and I really don’t need this market driven hype placing pressure on the people I love to somehow meet a conjured up expectation that somehow if you don’t buy me something than you must not love me!

I have given valentines and will continue to give and do things for the ones I love regardless of what bogus expectations the machine called commerce tries to place on us.

That being said, I have no strong feelings one way or another about it… 🙂

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Valentines Day… Have a Heart

  1. I agree, JT, I’m not a big fan of this Hallmark holiday. To quote an author whose bicentennial this month is a far more significant event to me – “Humbug!”

  2. Mary says:

    Can I have a petite giraffe for valentines day??? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day 17: Love | Haven't We Done This Before?

  4. Lady Deidre says:

    Amen! I prefer to ignore the holiday altogether! 🙂
    God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

