Is it the Title of the Blog Post or….


My last post elicited quite a response, so much so that I thought it worthy to chat about. First it was the single highest viewed post since I started blogging. The comments were split evenly between men and women and they were thought-provoking.

I don’t think of myself as a controversial person, but it appears that controversial subjects are more likely to gain a response, or at least a controversial title… Perhaps I should start talking about politics next πŸ™‚

I do want to say thank you to all of you for opening your mind and your keyboard to me. I think most people under-estimate the power of their words and the ability to bless someone by simply interacting with them even if it isn’t face to face. I also thank you forΒ  making me think, grow, and laugh.

Have a Great Weekend!

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in Just Because, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is it the Title of the Blog Post or….

  1. jennw2ns says:

    The title undoubtedly helped. At least in my case. I’d like to congratulate you for getting that much feedback–and feedback which elicits more discussion. That’s one of the frustrations I find on my own blog; I can think I’m being controversial sometimes, but if I get comments, they’re usually “Good point,” or “Good for you” and no one seems to want to argue with me very much. (I’d like to think it’s because they know I’m always right, but I suspect that is an inaccurate supposition.)

    I’d also like to say thanks because your comments often are open-ended . . . but still no one ELSE seems to get in on the discussion.

    As for getting more traffic–apparently you could write about wedding dresses. I got 101 hits yesterday . . . ! (Still no discussion though, dang it . . . )

    • JT says:

      I will say this about that, you come across as a deep thinker who has put a lot of thought into your arguments… people are probably intimidated by this and may not respond even if they have a counter point due to time constraints or a lack of confidence in presenting an opposing point of view effectively. Another possibility of course is that you usually are so persuasive with your logic that any possibility of refuting it is squashed in your hypothesis…or perhaps your just right most of the time πŸ˜€

      In regards to wedding dresses… I feel highly unqualified to comment πŸ™‚

  2. JT, I think that titles definitely “hook” people. I have found the better or more intriguing the title the more views I seem to get. Sometimes my silly, off-the-wall titles get viewed a lot too but I have noticed that abstract ones don’t seem to garner as many clicks. I think it’s kind of like covers on books. If you like what you see on the cover in the bookstore you will be much more likely to pick it up. Interesting question. Perhaps you could explore more topics that encourage conversation b/c I think that is what you did with that particular post. The title was interesting and then the post reflected the title and it opened up an interesting conversation. Just my 2 cents πŸ™‚

    • JT says:

      I will agree on both points regarding topic and title … would you happen to have a list I could work from πŸ˜‰
      Btw I think the value of your input far exceeds 2 cents πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

