Learning Curve…


I am reading more these days and a particularly inspiring literary work on thankfulness has really turned my head. “A Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp. The premise of her book was writing a list of 1000 things she is thankful for.

In the bible thankfulness always preceded a miracle. Another interesting fact is that thankfulness i.e. gratitude is something to be learned and part of the learning process is practice, in summary practicing an attitude of thankfulness is what will bring joy in our lives.

At first thought, you might think being grateful is a natural result of receiving good things in our lives. This is why I am believing it may be time to look closer at this subject. If thankfulness is only a response to receiving good, then it would also be fair to say that we are only thankful when we are getting what we want… that sounds more like selfishness and being self-centered, and therefore we spend most of our lives being ungrateful. I reflected on this and found it to be true in my own life, try it for yourself and let me know what you think.

It is easy to be thankful for the obvious, I wonder though how much more we have to be thankful for that goes unnoticed? Why is this important? What would our lives, and more pointedly our attitudes be like if we made a conscious effort to practice “the attitude of gratitude”?

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning Curve…

  1. Nice post, JT. It brought to mind a wise friend I have not seen in quite a while, who used to talk of “the seemingly bad.” There’s certainly experiential truth to that, most often in retrospect. I can think of several major disappointments in younger days that time proved to be for the best. Something else comes to mind. Not an original idea, by any means, but the notion that life tends to respond to our expectations also matches experience, which makes an attitude of gratitude just very good medicine.

    • JT says:

      Thank you Morgan, and yes, I would have to agree that often our attitudes have more to do with our circumstances than the circumstances themselves.

  2. I am learning that lesson after what I went through this week. Oh So Important:) Thanks for sharing & Have a Great Weekend!

Leave a Reply

