Do People REALLY Change?


At first thought, you might be tempted to say yes, however, I am not referring to things such as overcoming an addiction, developing a healthy lifestyle or trying a new gourmet dish.

This is a foray into the deeper levels of personality traits such as people who are typically optimistic…or pessimistic. Those who are morning glories or night owls, ones who simply have to finish a crossword puzzle or anything else they start, versus the epic procrastination guru.

Not being an expert on the subject, but still these are some of the things I ponder.

I can say this from my own experience, any lasting change that has occurred in my life I can attribute to a spiritual change, hence not one I take credit for. Certainly there will be those who disagree and at the end of this blip of time we get to spend here on this earth I believe, will be the final say on whether change was really worth talking about or not.

One thing seems certain, people want to change but usually struggle when change happens, and only in hindsight can these changes be evaluated as to how they were ultimately for our good.

JT

About JT

I am a happily married man with 6 children and have an autoimmune disease. I hope to share my story and explore others' stories and perhaps together both of our lives will be enhanced.
This entry was posted in God, introspection, Just Because, lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do People REALLY Change?

  1. In my experience, deep change is possible, but like you, the cases I have in mind involved bringing spiritual practice to bear, and over a long period of time. When I was young, my outlook was generally negative. Somewhere along the line, I learned enough mindfulness to recognize the thought stream and its arbitrary nature. For example, for quite a while, my attitude would tank when I walked into work at 8:00am, even if I’d been feeling fine on the drive in, and even if things were going well. With discreet situations like that, I learned the power of learning how to “think different,” to quote the Apple motto.

    I’m convinced we can learn to change habits of thought by practice just as we can learn to change other habits.

    • JT says:

      Hmmm I wonder if practice is enough, our nature I think is in direct conflict with change, at least it seems that significant change needs a broader motivation that encompasses a view beyond personal satisfaction or gain. What I mean to say is, our nature which is evident from very early in our development, is self centered but that really is another conversation. Thank you for your thought provoking comment Morgan.

  2. Another great thinking post:) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

